PDA

View Full Version : Rotating FFX Clusters

Richard Hebert
05-26-2012, 06:25 PM
These clusters appear to be rotating. Has anybody run across this before and how did you handle it?

Richard

SplineGod
05-26-2012, 11:22 PM
how are you placing them and how are you driving each cluster?

Richard Hebert
05-27-2012, 11:46 AM
I created guide splines with a weight map in Modeler. In layout I added clothFX to the splines using the weight map to anchor the splines. Added FBX to the splines. The FBX window is included here with the geometry settings used. I then just swept the collision object over the splines to get the swaying movement. If the splines are causing the rotation because they're not just bending but rotating then how can that be fixed? I'm really new to FBX because my little Mac Mini couldn't handle them :P

Richard

Greenlaw
05-27-2012, 12:14 PM
Since you're using ClothFX, set Fix to your root points--this should lock the base of the guides firmly. Depending on how you created the guides, the root points should have a named surface you can select under the Fix list (typically called 'Root' by but it could be anything.)

Greenlaw
05-27-2012, 12:22 PM
BTW, if you're using the weight to give the effect a falloff from root to tip, I suggest using it in Viscosity instead of other channels--calculations will be faster and tweaking may be more predictable. Sometimes I'll additionally use an inverted weight in Resistance.

Hope this helps.

G.

Richard Hebert
05-27-2012, 07:03 PM
I've used your suggestion and almost all of the guides appear to be locked down with the exception of a couple. I went through the map to make sure that those guides had weight values assigned to the roots. Is it necessary to go beyond 100% values on the weight map or will that even make a difference?

Greenlaw
05-28-2012, 01:06 AM
That's very strange.