PDA

View Full Version : Problem crushing a can with bones using IK and FK.

Philly85
05-23-2012, 07:10 AM
Hey guys I am trying to crush a can in Lightwave but having problems.

If I do it with FK it does not look very realistic. If I try to do with it IK I goes all weird when I match the goals orientation. Mainly because I have never used IK before and am following a bloody leg tutorial which is no good for me I don't think haha.

Have I set the bones up in the right way do you think? My tutor said I would need three in like a zig-zag shape but it's not looking good.

Any suggestions?

Simon-S
05-23-2012, 07:21 AM
You could maybe try doing it with morphs rather than bones?

Philly85
05-23-2012, 07:31 AM
Any ideas how that would work?

My brain kind of messes up when I try to apply things in Lightwave to objects I have not used them on before lol, have done morphs with facial expressions and stuff but thats about it.

Would it be like create a morph of the can crushed? Then just move the point to match the morph when I want it to be crushed in Layout?

ccclarke
05-23-2012, 08:42 AM
Ensure the base mesh is all triangles (to avoid non-planar polys later) and start moving points to create the morph. You can probably build the morph in less time than it takes to create a weight map and apply a bone to the can. Simple, painless, done.

CCC

Simon-S
05-23-2012, 10:11 AM
Any ideas how that would work?

My brain kind of messes up when I try to apply things in Lightwave to objects I have not used them on before lol, have done morphs with facial expressions and stuff but thats about it.

Would it be like create a morph of the can crushed? Then just move the point to match the morph when I want it to be crushed in Layout?

There's some great videos here (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=77002):

Look for the "Organic Modeling :Introduction to Endomorphs, Morph Mixer and Open GL Sliders"...that should get you started.

nickdigital
05-23-2012, 11:02 AM