PDA

View Full Version : Transparency

sofiagloor
05-10-2012, 11:11 AM
I am trying to change the transparency of an object in modeler and it shows that it is set to 50%, but I do not see a change. I have set a surface and then tried to modify the settings in Surface Editor. Can anyone direct me on how to get the transparency to show up?

ursa
05-10-2012, 11:28 AM
Hit D to bring up the Display options, Go to the GL tab and enable Transparency.

Markc
05-10-2012, 11:28 AM
Make sure Transparency is checked in Display options:Open GL (d) :)

Arrh, too slow I was in typing...!

sofiagloor
05-10-2012, 12:11 PM
Thanks for the advice. I tried that and it still did not show up. What is weird is that I am working with students. Most of them get the transparency to work right away, but a handful did not. They were following the same steps so I don't know if they accidentally hit something else and it is causing it to not work :( I am new to LightWave (I am sure you figured that out already...hehe) and not familiar enough with this software to figure out how to get it to work.

I am trying to see the structure on the first layer to use it as a guide.

Markc
05-10-2012, 12:16 PM
You need to select the bottom half of the layer (top right of screen) to put it into the background?

sofiagloor
05-10-2012, 12:26 PM
Yes, we did set it as the background and it still did not show up. You could tell that the surface had not changed.

K-Dawg
05-10-2012, 12:59 PM
In Modeler, Press D and go to the GL tab. Make sure Transparency is checked. If you still have a problem with it, try legacy OpenGL further down if you have an old computer.

UnCommonGrafx
05-10-2012, 03:08 PM
Send it to layout where it really counts!

You don't show what's important. What's your viewport set to? Texture, flat shade...?

Rove
05-11-2012, 01:21 AM
Assuming you didn't but gotta make sure: