PDA

View Full Version : WEdge Slide: supposed to work in Edge mode?



jeric_synergy
05-09-2012, 02:04 PM
Is WEdge Slide supposed to work in Edge Mode?

It tries to do something, but what it does in Edge Mode is not generally desirable. Works fine in Point Mode.

Maybe LW11 update broke it?

erikals
05-12-2012, 10:20 AM
 
nope, it would've been really nice though...
it's Open source, a LW script, so if it's possible, i guess anyone that wants to could give it a go...
http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=34be0b7b

interactive W-slide would be Superb...! \:]

or maybe NT wanna check it out?
 

jeric_synergy
05-12-2012, 10:28 AM
Since it works fine in Point Mode, I'd think simply automagically switching to Selected Points would fix a large portion of the issues. (That is, auto-SelSwitch.)

I'm no programmer though.

RebelHill
05-12-2012, 10:45 AM
It predates the addition of edges so only works on piints. Try DuniSlide.

jeric_synergy
05-12-2012, 12:20 PM
It predates the addition of edges so only works on piints. Try DuniSlide.
Thanks RH, I'll give that a whirl. 64 bit too! :thumbsup:

Since WEdge Slide is OpenSource, at least it can be updated by mortals-- just not this mortal.

EDIT: and everybody, please contribute to the tags on lwplugindb.com, it makes things easier to find for everybody (DuniSlide had zero tags, I added slide, sliding, and modeling.)

jeric_synergy
05-12-2012, 02:41 PM
DUniSlide works oddly if you select multiple Edge Loops and apply it simultaneously.

For instance, create a default sphere, and EdgeLoop select the equator and the two loops bracketing the equator. Applying DUniSlide moves only the non-equator loops, PLUS doesn't slide the corresponding points along their segments, creating a groove at the equator.

I guess it's really a only one loop at a time tool. Nothing wrong with that.