PDA

View Full Version : I hate the Node Editor

lazyanimator
05-04-2012, 07:40 AM
I'll be honest and accept that I am opening myself up to abuse but frankly - The node editor is fking rediculous. There I've said it!

I appreciate its flexibility and power and thats great, it really is, but it reminds me both literally and metaphorically of the early synthesizers of the late 70's, early 80's. Plug this into that, turn this up, that down and those half up and you'll get a sound, as long as you have an engineering degree that is! Yes, I know its not quite the same is it. I know its great and reasonably simple to add a material or a gradient or any of the basics, but I could more or less do that in the standard materials editor. Like the musicians or the 70's and 80's I am an artist first and a technician second (or third or forth) I appreciate you have to put a bit of work in to get results and some of that is technical. It cant all be artistic and fun all the time. But surely we want these processes to be simple dont we? So we can get on with the actual job of creating stuff? If I were a pilot I would want the plane to take off when i pulled that lever, I wouldnt want to have to go and plug all the bits in first (neither would my passengers I would wager!). Am I over reacting a little? Well yes, probably! But for me at least, the future of cgi in this digital age is to refine the process of creation by making ball aching things less so! I dont mind tweaking, but I for one dont want to have to spend a day trying to reprogram nodes in order to get the correct settings.

I am sure all this has been covered before, but I needed to rant. Now, there, see, I feel better.

Going for a lay down,

LA.

Nangleator
05-04-2012, 07:44 AM
If it was easy, they wouldn't pay us for it.

Wait. They hardly pay anything now. Something's wrong with that line of thought...

RebelHill
05-04-2012, 07:52 AM
So... Dont use it if thats how you feel.