PDA

View Full Version : instances flikering problem

spigolo
04-26-2012, 04:59 AM
Hello,
I'm rendering an animation of a landscape full of instances :5500 tree, 400 bushes.
Everything works fine except for a damm flikering in the instances.
As I have some experience on this I have tried all the tricks, but I can't fina a solution like I did with other tools like Hdinstances or kray in the past.

The trees are a simplified model from evermotion, same for bushes..

I tried to render without radiosity= no changes same flikering
I tired to switch off specularity and reflection from the leaves= no changes same flikering
I raised a lot AA like 4/32 and 0.03 of adaptive=no changes same flikering
I tired to avoid self shadow = no changes same flikering

Any suggestion?

RebelHill
04-26-2012, 05:15 AM
Id be tempted to say its the detail and AA, nothing to do with instancing itself. When detials, either from geo, textures, whatever else are rendering smaller than 1 pixel you will get flicker as these details traverse across the image from 1 pixel to the next.

The only solution is to up your AA, possibly quite a LOT.

Obv you dont want to go wasting AA samples all over the scene unnecessarily, so this is where doing a couple quick tests of AS comes in useful, to find the spot where AS is really only flagging up the problem areas for additional sampling.

spigolo
04-26-2012, 05:32 AM
Hello,
thanks for your reply.
I should say that I'm trying all the possible aa settings but i don't see any minimal change..

JonW
04-26-2012, 05:33 AM
Have you tried rendering 2 x the size (4 x the area) & then halving the size in Photoshop etc. Fine detail noise is easier to reduce this way.

Or even 3 x the size (9 x the area) if you are desperate. Worth a test.

Tobian
04-26-2012, 05:35 AM