PDA

View Full Version : Fusion I/O... Not the Fusion we are used to around here.



Dexter2999
04-24-2012, 07:16 PM
http://www.sandirect.com/fusion-io-solid-state-cards-c-318_339.html?_kk=fusion%20io&_kt=367fddc3-e683-4ddf-8298-69768b8d2d33&gclid=CK7_9trozq8CFSoGRQodLWXWHw

Just watched a clip about this from NAB. A card of nearly a half terabyte of SSD memory that has the speed of RAM but is can be utilized and addressed with as a disk.

My mind is reeling at the implications. I'd love to hear how Newtek and users would take advantage of this tech.

Titus
04-25-2012, 12:22 PM
They were at SIGGRAPH a couple of years ago. Their technology looks awesome. Wonder about their prices.

Dexter2999
04-25-2012, 12:27 PM
I went to find more on them on YouTube. Apparently they have been around for at least three years. Steve Wozniak (sp?) is/was on the payroll as Chief Technical Officer or somesuch.

There is a video where they are running like 8 Quad Xeon, Quad Core server boxes from a single card. And they all boot from the single card and are streaming over 1,000 movies at the same time at full resolution.

Just sick. I love it.

Titus
04-26-2012, 08:29 AM
The price for these cards:

http://www.nextag.com/iodrive-160gb/stores-html

EDIT: The link is broken now, but the price range is $3,500 to $7,000

Wow!

Titus
04-26-2012, 08:52 AM
Or even more:

http://www.solidstateworks.com/ioDrive.asp

silviotoledo
04-26-2012, 10:39 AM
Fusion-io
http://youtu.be/vA8ViK-ypSM
320 Giga 56 times faster for transfer and recording than a HD

OCZ Z-Drive R4
http://youtu.be/yjKQfMzUIWU
This seems to be powerfull than Fusion-io

OCZ Velodrive 1.2 TB
http://youtu.be/F5ALaAed69o
1.2 Terabite SSD

I'm still trying to understand for what can I use this.

a) May I use it also as RAM memory?
b) May I use it as HD substitute?

silviotoledo
04-26-2012, 11:20 AM
OCZ Velodrive 1.2 TB $6,724.36

Fusion-io 1.2 TB $7,499.95


a bit expensive

Yeah, I see it's a HD substitute wich saves energy, weight, velocity...

but the other question still remain:

Will this also increase the RAM memory? I guess not.

Dexter2999
04-26-2012, 01:04 PM
Will this also increase the RAM memory? I guess not.

The guy from Fusio I/O was talking like it would...but maybe he was speaking like using it as a RAM disk? Or maybe I just misunderstood.

Titus
04-26-2012, 04:13 PM
a) May I use it also as RAM memory?

They use the fact this is almost as fast as DRAM as a selling point. But there's no reason to use it as memory, this kind of technology wears very fast with every I/O operation.

---

b) May I use it as HD substitute?

Yes and no. This is a SAN and there's some specific use for massive, fast and big storage solutions. If you just use it as a HD it's like killing birds with a cannonball. I see this technology useful for huge databases, automated tv stations streaming videos, etc.

If you only want a fast HD, a RAID is cheaper.

allabulle
04-26-2012, 06:56 PM
For a composition I did I would loved to have one of those as a swap drive (ramdisk if you wish, or for a drive where you set the page file (I guess it's called that way in Windows)). With a toy like this, what doesn't fit in your RAM it's paged to the disk; so yes, you stop waiting for the cache files to update and load like you had tons of RAM.

But mostly, yeah, if you don't really know (or learned painfully, I mean) how useful could it be then probably you'll be happy with a good RAID.

Rayek
04-27-2012, 12:15 AM
I have been using a Revodrive x3 240gb for a while now, and it's absolutely awesome. Up to 1.5gb/s transfer rates really do make a difference.

The only drawback is having to deal with students' machines, and macs and windows machines at work. Everything feels so slow compared to mine now.