PDA

View Full Version : FFX Critical Bug



VermilionCat
04-23-2012, 02:25 PM
Render when your camera doesn't see FFX, LW hangs. Annoying.

Sensei
04-23-2012, 02:31 PM
Bugs should be reported here
https://fogbugz.newtek.com/

VermilionCat
04-23-2012, 02:35 PM
Thanks. Although I think it is a bug but I'm not so sure. No one experienced this?

Sensei
04-23-2012, 02:37 PM
Attach scene, so we can check whether it's reproducible..

VermilionCat
04-23-2012, 02:56 PM
Attached a scene file. FFX applied to the guides.
Frame 0 - Render fine.
Frame 1 - Hang.

Bill Carey
04-23-2012, 03:34 PM
Confirmed.

Hieron
04-23-2012, 04:11 PM
Render when your camera doesn't see FFX, LW hangs. Annoying.


Thanks. Although I think it is a bug but I'm not so sure. No one experienced this?

Yes I did, about 4 years ago. Then I filed a bugreport and it did get fixed. Funny to see it back, though I'll try to refrain from commenting on it too much...
I'm not touching FFX with a stick yet and am very happy that I don't have to either.

Sensei
04-23-2012, 05:07 PM
This scene was made in the past, or is it made by current version?
Which version and which build?

Sensei
04-23-2012, 05:14 PM
LW v11.0.1 Build 2253 didn't hang..

I had to set First Frame to 0, then picked up Output RGB Files, and pressed F10- it's going.. I stopped it at 21 frame (1-21 all black).

Hieron
04-24-2012, 01:35 AM
LW v11.0.1 Build 2253 didn't hang..

I had to set First Frame to 0, then picked up Output RGB Files, and pressed F10- it's going.. I stopped it at 21 frame (1-21 all black).

That is not what he said. He said render when it is not in view, you applied a specific different approach. Why would you do that?

Rendering frame 1 with F9 *hangs* LW 11.0.1 build 2253, 64bit, win7 here no doubt.
So he is correct. *bug*

As to what version the scene is created with, no idea. But spending 20 seconds making a new one from scratch and rotating the camera so that the FFX is not in view would tell you that build 2253 made scene has the same *bug*.

Pff.. a 88 post forum user needs to come in here and point out basic FFX errors, that have been reported before. Nice. (thanks for post though vermillioncat)

Sensei
04-24-2012, 03:20 AM
No. When I loaded scene, I immediately pressed F10, no touched anything.. it started rendering from frame 1 (then I realized it's rotated already).. and black everything.. so stopped it for a couple frames.. nothing hung.. then to see how FFX looks like I played with Render Globals first frame set to 0 and pressed again F10.
I am not familiar with FFX errors, so don't know how to reproduce old or new bugs.
It's build 2253 winxp 32 bit.

lino.grandi
04-24-2012, 03:24 AM
We're looking into that NOW. Thank you so much!

VermilionCat
04-24-2012, 04:47 AM
Thank you for your time, guys.
The scene I posted was created with v11.0.1 64bit.
It could be 64bit problem. I should have mentioned.

Greenlaw
04-24-2012, 11:51 AM
For what it's worth, that error doesn't happen here. I just rendered a three frame sequence of a character on-camera, half-off camera, and completely off camera, and no crashing. Not saying it doesn't happen, only that my scene seems to work fine for me.

I'm downloading your scene now and will check it out in a minute.

G.

Greenlaw
04-24-2012, 11:58 AM
I just looked at your scene...yeah, it hangs on the second frame here too. That's pretty weird.

Greenlaw
04-24-2012, 12:09 PM
I recreated your scene from scratch using your guides and got the same hang up on frame 1.

Then opened my demo scene from last week and moved the camera like in your scene and, yes, there is that hang up again. Apparently, it's okay for a character to move off a static camera but if the camera moves off a character you get that hang up.

Definitely a bug and a pretty serious one. Hope they get if fixed very soon as this may put the brakes on FFX for us for this project.

Greenlaw
04-24-2012, 12:22 PM
...could be 64bit problem.
I think you're right...I just tried this in 11.0.1 x32 on my tablet PC--because I don't have the x32 version installed on my desktop at work--and the frame renders without crashing.

I'll try installing 11.0.1 x32 on the desktop and see what happens. Will also try the scene in 11.0 x64 version.

lino.grandi
04-24-2012, 12:32 PM
Bug fixed! Thanks guys for helping making LightWave always better. :bowdown:

Hieron
04-24-2012, 12:44 PM
For what it's worth, that error doesn't happen here. I just rendered a three frame sequence of a character on-camera, half-off camera, and completely off camera, and no crashing. Not saying it doesn't happen, only that my scene seems to work fine for me.

I'm downloading your scene now and will check it out in a minute.

G.

Did you render a sequence, or did you render a few F9's in sequence? As it makes a difference, for some reason :)
There is nothing special about his scene btw, I created a new one from scratch with the Layout built in modelling tools, and it does the exact same thing. edit: ah I see you did further testing now, nice.

ps: awesome to see that response Lino, it helps to see you react to it so quickly.

Phil
04-24-2012, 12:45 PM
Any chance of a hotfix release for SP1 for this?

Greenlaw
04-24-2012, 12:45 PM
Interesting: no problem with Lightwave 11.0 x64 on either computer.

BTW, the error does appear with 11.0.1 x32 on my workstation, but not on the tablet. I haven't checked x64 on my tablet yet.

This must be a new 11.0.1 bug. For the time being, I guess you need to render FFX with 11.0.

Greenlaw
04-24-2012, 12:46 PM
Cool! Thanks Lino and Jon, and whoever else was involved. :thumbsup:

Can we get the fix soon?

Hieron
04-24-2012, 12:49 PM
Yes, and while we are at it, be allowed into beta? :)

VermilionCat
04-24-2012, 12:52 PM
:thumbsup:

lino.grandi
04-24-2012, 04:24 PM
Any chance of a hotfix release for SP1 for this?

We'll do our best to get the fix to our users as soon as possible.

jwiede
04-25-2012, 01:22 PM
Lino, is the bug also present in Mac LW 11.0.1, or just limited to Win LW? Where present, is there any setting in FFX or (moving) camera we can change (f.e. FFX render mode, or such) as a workaround to avoid the hang until the fix is available? Also, can you characterize the bug a bit better? Doing so might help narrow the search for a short-term workaround.