PDA

View Full Version : Paint on 32-bit exr alpha channel



jasonwestmas
04-19-2012, 12:39 PM
Hi there, I was hoping someone could tell me if Photoshop CS5 would allow me to paint on the alpha channel and clean it up for a 32-bit exr file.

biliousfrog
04-19-2012, 01:17 PM
yes, I just checked

jasonwestmas
04-19-2012, 01:22 PM
Thank you sir! I guess I should've just downloaded the trial. I got impatient.

jasonwestmas
04-19-2012, 03:40 PM
Hmm, I downloaded the CS5 trial. It allows me to create a new alpha channel and paint on that but it won't let me paint the image at all in 32-bit mode. I thought that would have changed by now. Ohh well.

Plus it's obvious there is transparency in the EXR but it actually doesn't have an alpha channel layer. I don't have much experience with 32-bit images obviously.

jasonwestmas
04-19-2012, 03:52 PM
Does anyone have any idea on how to do a little manual cleanup on a 32-bpc displacement since even CS5 doesn't allow it.