PDA

View Full Version : .mtl file format

digitalimagery
04-18-2012, 07:58 PM
I purchased a roulette wheel model from turbosquid which was available as an obj file. It came with surfaces and a .mtl file which I understand is for maintaining the surface assignments. Is this something that can be used in LW?

When opening the surface editor it appears the model is a single object (it's not broken up in layers in the modeler although I can break it up if the .mtl file is intended for other 3D apps. I have zero experience with this.

Can anyone point me to the best way to handle this?

Thanks
DI

Philbert
04-18-2012, 08:19 PM
As long as the MTL and OBJ have the same name (minus the extension) LightWave should automatically recognize the MTL and load the surfaces when you open the OBJ. As for layers OBJ is not nearly as versatile as LWO so it can't contain things like layers or morphs.

digitalimagery
04-19-2012, 06:16 AM
The file shipped in directories that suggest it was set up this way. As nice as the reference images looked at turbosquid, without layers I don't see how I can separate the wheel from the wheel housing to make it spin or create a hierarchy to parent things that should remain together.

Additionally, I rendered a test in layout and got nothing. Is there something in particular I should be doing to insure that file's info crosses over? It appears in the surface editor that these surfaces are applied but I'm not getting them to render.

Lastly can I change the file extension to .lwo from .obj or is there something involved? I sort of thought they were the same.

Thanks for your help.
DI

Sensei
04-19-2012, 06:50 AM
Either mtl and obj are text files, so you can just open them in text editor. That's why it's so big size.
lws is also text file.
lwo is binary file.

jburford
04-19-2012, 07:01 AM