PDA

View Full Version : selection based on background



dblincoe
04-14-2012, 08:25 AM
Here is the scenario:
I've been given a complex object (stl imported from another package). It has an high poly count and many parts (not lw parts) but is all on one layer. I was in the process of moving pieces to different objects to keep it manageable (where I reduce poly's and clean up geometry using LWCAD).

Half way thru the cleanup LW crashes. So now I have the original object and 10 objects that have parts in them. Is there anyway to open the parts in the background and use that to select the part of the original to delete. I really don't want to go thru and manually compare the models to determine what parts need to be deleted.

sandman300
04-14-2012, 09:29 AM
Are each of the parts continuous meshs (all polys connected)? If that is so, I remember seeing a plugin that splits parts to layers (Object Cutter (http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=97eecf0d)), and another plugin that saves Layer To Object Saver (http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=e5d2c3c5)

Or maybe Part To Surface (http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=e7c4bb04) could be useful with Save By Surface (http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=18d69a90)

Anyway you go it will still be a good bit of work, but your better off starting over and saving often and incrementally.

I myself would prefer working all within one object with layers, and saving increments as I go. Makes it easier to keep everything together and organized. When I finish optimizing a part, rename the layer to make the part easier to find.

xchrisx
04-15-2012, 12:24 AM
dblincoe check your pm.