PDA

View Full Version : rust



pdrake
10-22-2003, 03:36 PM
i'm making a rusty bulkhead and need some help. advice is good too. i'm making a weight map for certain areas on the door and can't find a way to attach procedurals just to the weight map. is this not possible? thanks.

riki
10-22-2003, 09:07 PM
I saw a good tut about this recently. Try http://www.andynicholas.com/thezone/index.php?area=showitem&fromarea=art&article=1

toby
10-22-2003, 10:51 PM
Not sure why you want a weight map, but have you tried Surface Mixer? It's Ideal for what you're doing.

riki
10-22-2003, 11:03 PM
Not sure why you want a weight map

Weight-Maps can be used to help you place Procedural textures.

pdrake
10-23-2003, 11:34 AM
i'm trying to just put other types of rust around certain areas like joints and the opening edge. the weight map is just to define the area where i want the effect. i just cant seem to figure out how to do it. maybe i should rtfm.

Matt
10-23-2003, 01:10 PM
Might help!

Matt
10-23-2003, 01:19 PM
VERY simple test . . .

toby
10-23-2003, 09:31 PM
damn that weight map stuff is cool, new trick for the toolbox! Between that and airbrush, it's 3D paint! I'm stoked!