PDA

View Full Version : Mdd?

DrStrik9
04-10-2012, 05:29 PM
This is probably bordering on a rhetorical question, and hopefully might help others like myself who don't have a clue. :)

The term, "MDD" appears very few times in LW 10.1 docs, and only once in LW11 docs (under Flocking). The impression one gets is that since Motion Designer is old, MDD is also relegated to "legacy" status. MD_Reader, for instance, is a "legacy tool."

Not being an animator myself, focusing primarily on modeling, texturing, and lighting, I had little use for this technology, until Bullet was introduced in LW11.

In fact, I couldn't find much of anything in the docs that explains what MDD actually is. I happened to stumble on MD Multi Baker, read the docs and experimented trial-and-error-style with it until I was able to export MDD for my sim objects, and then used MD Pointer to refer to the motion data. Voila!

Wow, how cool is that?!? :)

Now I'm just wondering where LW users learn about MDD and other formats that (who knows?) might be even better, and how to best use them? ... It can't really be from reading the manual can it?

SplineGod
04-11-2012, 02:52 AM
mdd has been around in Lightwave as a file format since the time that Motion Designer was introduced to LW as a 3rd party plugin. Later, Newtek aquired the technology from the author and renamed it clothfx and soft/fx. MDD files are created when motion data is baked on an object on a vertex by vertex basis. Other applications have similar schemes and call it point cache data. Since that time there are other applications, 3rd party plugins etc that support the format.

DrStrik9
04-11-2012, 08:13 AM
Thanks for your kind reply.