PDA

View Full Version : Alpha for Normal Map node?

short223
04-05-2012, 11:12 AM
I am not a node expert by any means. I have a Normal Map node which successfully applies the normal map to my surface node (via the Normal channel), but I need to have that map (node) with an alpha map to block its effect on certain areas (just like we do in the surface layers).

I couldn't see a way to do this but as I said, not a node expert. Any help would be great!
Thanks!

RebelHill
04-05-2012, 11:38 AM
plug your alpha into the amplitude input of the normal map node itself.

short223
04-05-2012, 11:46 AM
I assume I am to use an Image Node for my alpha? Sorry to sound stupid, do I use the Alpha channel to plug into the Amplitude?
Thanks for your help!

short223
04-05-2012, 01:06 PM
Still haven't been able to get it to work. If I plug a 2D Image node of my alpha map, I used all 4 selections (color, alpha, luma and bump) but they just eliminated the normal map effect. I have the normal map amplitude at 300% but when I plug the other node it deactivates this......

Help anyone?

Sensei
04-05-2012, 04:49 PM
Add Constant > Scalar, plug to NormalMap Amplitude, try values 0.0 and 1.0.
If 1.0 is used, then normal is read from image,
if 0.0 is used, normal is regular normal of surface.

Show your node setup screen-shot. This might help helping you.

short223
04-06-2012, 05:56 AM
Hmmm.... Seems like I'm not explaining it right.

In the two attachments I have an example on how it is done with layers (just using the bump channel for examp). You have your bump texture with an alpha mask on top which will block certain areas from being affected (as everyone knows this).

I'm just trying to do the same thing with a Normal Map Node as I have a surface that I want the normal map to affect (which it does very well) but I need areas to be masked where it will not be affected by using an alpha image (just like the layers method).