PDA

View Full Version : How to model a floor grid ?



madno
04-01-2012, 03:47 AM
Hi,
is there a tutorial about how to model a grid like in the attached picture?
I like to make it a Sub-D object. My idea was:
- to make a thin box
- then a lot of smaller boxes (with array function)
- then boolean the smaller boxes out of the bigger one.

But I noticed I then would need to make a lot of sub-D control edges manually one after the other.
Maybe you know a better way?

Lewis
04-01-2012, 04:04 AM
Hmm picture is really small but still this is very squarish shape so i wonder do you really need SubDs ? It's pretty much sharp and SubDs will need a LOT of handsaw/knifing to look that way with very little (if any) benefit. You could model with regular polys and use micro-bevels on edges to get better light bouncing out of grid.

XswampyX
04-01-2012, 04:26 AM
Make a 'L' shape.
Array it.
Delete the interior purple faces.
Press 'tab'

Done.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/GridFloor.gif

madno
04-01-2012, 04:54 AM
Lewis,
thanks,
booled the floor, but get those edges. Bevel creates a mess on that. Will try to shift-z the polys, maybe that helps.

EDIT:
Oh, just saw, XswampyX has an idea to do it.

I always struggle with those bevel, rounder etc. operations. Thats the reason I tend to use sub-D as it seems it fits my brain cells better? Or just not modeled enough to get used to it.

EDIT2:
The L-idea worked (and fast). But I know, I need to learn the non sub-D way as well. Next on the to do list.

erikals
04-01-2012, 06:04 AM
u might wanna use SubPatch weights to save some polys...
http://www.chrisevans3d.com/tutorials/weights.htm

D-Lab
04-01-2012, 10:46 AM
Hi,

A floor grid in 8 steps in classic poly mode with micro bevel :

1-Create a box with the right dimensions and number of segments (holes).
2-Select the top and bottom polygons.
3-Bevel them to define the thickness of the grid.
4-Another bevel for the micro bevel.
5-Last bevel to extend the edges.
6-Stretch tool on the Y axis with a value of 0.
7-Delete polys selected and merge points.
8-Select these edges and dissolve them.

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=103124&stc=1&d=1333298635

Perhaps you could save some polys without SubDs...

Tchao.

Lewis
04-01-2012, 11:53 AM
Yep this what D-lab showed is almost same as I would i do it, except i'd do it in these steps:

1-Create a box with the right dimensions and number of segments (holes).
2-Select the top and bottom polygons.
3-Bevel them to define the thickness of the grid.
4-Another bevel for the micro bevel.
5-Last bevel to extend the edges.
6-hit "bridge" tool

DONE

D-Lab
04-01-2012, 12:29 PM
Hi Lewis,

Bridge doesn't work in this case (I've tried :)), you have to select the polygons by pair to be bridged and it would be a lot more time consuming than stretch etc...

Tchao

Lewis
04-01-2012, 03:05 PM
Ahh yes you are right, Bridge is not "smart" enough in this case to do it all at once wihtout confusing itself :).

sami
04-01-2012, 07:48 PM
Make a 'L' shape.
Array it.
Delete the interior purple faces.
Press 'tab'

Done.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/GridFloor.gif

Quick unrelated question, do you have a quick way to create those animated gifs from screencasts? Does Camtasia do that sort of thing or is this purely a manual process? thx.

madno
04-02-2012, 12:35 AM
Hey all thanks alot,
that really helps.