PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on these two 3d workstation rigs?



monovich
03-28-2012, 02:56 PM
Hi all,

I'm kicking around getting another rig for 3d/rendering. I saw these two deals today and was wondering what people think of the setups/price.

1. i7 rig http://www.logicbuy.com/deals/hp-pavilion-elite-core-i7-extreme-edition-desktop-pc-coupon/22515.aspx


2. Half the price. 8 core AMD: http://www.logicbuy.com/deals/hp-pavilion-h9-amd-desktop/36799.aspx

I'm a big value guy. I don't need THE FASTEST. I'm fairly happy with my AMD X6 at the moment but wouldn't mind a bump.

Also, how about the video cards they have? Good enough or upgrade material? I use 3d coat so video card matters.

Thanks for the thoughts.

-SF

fazi69
03-28-2012, 03:11 PM
Six core I7 is highly overpriced. CPU cost almost 1000 $. Go with AMD or search for I7 but with 4 cores. GFX cards in both are more than enough. In this economy it is safer to have this 1000 bucks in your pocket.

Dexter2999
03-28-2012, 03:17 PM
Mixed feelings

The 8 Core seems a better return on investment.
BUT
It has less RAM. (Is that an issue for you?)
It has an ATI video card which I try avoid.

The i7 seems sexy.
Will you benefit from the SSD or is that just inflating the price?
The liquid cooling is certainly fun but has to be pushing the price up a few bucks. Is noise an issue? Or do you plan on OC'ing the processors?

monovich
03-28-2012, 03:32 PM
Yeah I'd need an Nvidia card. I gave up on ATI years ago. I know the i7 scores higher and screams along, but the AMD is respectably fast. Faster than my main rig now.

I do love SSD, it really makes a whole system snappier. I have an 80gig SSD as my system drive now.

My business model has always been to run a tight ship and skip the fastest stuff, so the AMD seems once again consistent with that.

I do need a lot of ram though. 16 gig is important...

monovich
03-28-2012, 03:53 PM
So I re-specced it to:
Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium [64-bit]
AMD FX-8150 eight-core processor [3.6GHz, 8MB L2/8MB L3 Cache]
16GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs]
160GB solid state drive
1GB DDR5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti [2 DVI, mini-HDMI. VGA adapter]
Liquid Cooling Solution
Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
Premium Wireless-N LAN card
15-in-1 memory card reader, 4 x USB 2.0 (front), 2 x USB 3.0 (top)
TV tuner, ATSC-NTSC with PVR, remote
Beats Audio (tm) -- integrated studio quality sound
Premium HP keyboard and optical mouse

came to $1289 but wouldn't ship until the 5th.

I specced something similar on Newegg but without a case (which I have), or a sound card (which I don't care much about). But I bumped it to 32gb of ram on a Gigabyte mobo. Also bumped the card to 2gig, same 550 Ti otherwise.

Came to $1250 shipped and I can get it by the end of the week...

hmmm...

Dexter2999
03-28-2012, 04:06 PM
That last option sounds pretty good for a work machine.

Andy Meyer
03-29-2012, 06:26 AM
the i7 rig is much better.
- the 3930 is about twice as fast in rendering than the 8100
compare 3930 vs 8150: http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/434?vs=552
- the i7 rig has 12gb ram vs 8gb with amd rig
- ssd in i7 rig vs old slow disc in amd rig
- nvidia in i7 rig, ati in amd rig... ati + LW :-(

imho the i7 rig is the better offer

your re-specced amd rig is much better, but for rendering speed amd is a no go.

digitaldoc
03-29-2012, 07:24 AM
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004AH9W8A/ref=oh_o06_s00_i00_details

I bought one similar to this by Microtel last year, great machine, great price, super fast delivery.

Lewis
03-29-2012, 07:41 AM
That AMD is no match for 3930K at all (ad they (AMD) know it so they keep lower prices to be able to sell any :)). If you want speed as that AMD then you can go with cheaper i5 2600K on cheaper 1155 MotherBoard + 16GB Ram and it'll be much cheaper than 2011 socket MB + 3930K and still faster than that Bulldozer AMD (usually called "Faildozer" ;)).

JonW
03-29-2012, 03:20 PM
Passmark:
FX-8150 8264
i7-3930k 13547

Cinebench
FX-8150 6.01
i7-3930k 10.15


Both CPUs are in this chart
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2011/11/14/intel-sandy-bridge-e-review/4

& they have a BM for LW9.6 a few pages down.

geo_n
03-29-2012, 08:56 PM
that Bulldozer AMD (usually called "Faildozer" ;)).

Even a very cheap 2500k performs equally to that Faildozer. What was AMD thinking?

monovich
03-30-2012, 09:21 AM
Ok I get that an i5 or i7 is faster, but dollar for dollar computing the i5 does more? I'm not looking for the fastest, just a nice balance of speed/value.

edit: those cpu tests are nice. thanks for the link. man does the AMD drag it's heels...

digitaldoc
03-30-2012, 09:40 AM
Looks like the i7-2600 or 2700 (K) are best bang for the buck

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/316856-28-intel-2700k-arrived

monovich
03-30-2012, 09:54 AM
So I specced this i7 to a similar price to the AMD, but I guess it'd be tons faster. I didn't include special cooling. Should I?

EVGA 01G-P3-1361-KR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

$139.99

Rosewill CAPSTONE Series CAPSTONE-550 550W Continuous @ 50C, 80 PLUS GOLD Certified, Single +12V Rail, ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V ...

$79.99

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL10Q-32GBXL

$249.99

Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX80619i73930K

$599.99

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

$99.99

SAMSUNG 830 Series MZ-7PC128B/WW 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

$169.99

Subtotal: $1,339.94

digitaldoc
03-30-2012, 10:04 AM
Looks good.
You'll need another hard drive for data storage, I have 2 additional internal 2 TB drives.

You only really want the OS on the SSD.

Good price on the i7 6 core (12 threads for rendering)

I paid $1,189 for my i7-2600K system last year and $2,500 for the i7-980x ($1K processor itself) in 2010.

I would advise maybe a little bigger power supply and probably the special cooling.

Good luck!

:thumbsup:

BigHache
03-30-2012, 10:05 AM
I didn't include special cooling. Should I?

You could probably get away with stock esp. if you have a case with good airflow. If you wanted to OC at all, then you'd need more than stock.

monovich
03-30-2012, 10:20 AM
Looks good.
You'll need another hard drive for data storage, I have 2 additional internal 2 TB drives.

You only really want the OS on the SSD.

I would advise maybe a little bigger power supply and probably the special cooling.


I have an external RAID 5 setup so that takes power demands off of the power supply. I tend to keep the internals pretty bare: Just processor, video, RAID card, system SSD and optical drive (which is almost never used anymore). With that in mind I *think* I'm okay with the power supply as-is?

I keep recycling my cases. They may not have the most amazing airflow ever, but they've been great boxes up until now. I'd probably run stock speed to start and overclock between projects down the road.

biliousfrog
03-30-2012, 10:36 AM
I don't think that the newer i7's come with stock coolers, certainly none of the 3930's I was looking at recently came with one. I've got a Corsair H50 in my current system and would definitely recommend the 'H' series coolers. They're a self-contained liquid cooling system which takes up less room than an equivalent air cooler but costs the same or less. Mine is almost silent too and I was able to run the processor at 4.2ghz (2.7ghz stock) while barely going over stock temps with the supplied cooler.

This is the latest model afaik (H100): http://www.guru3d.com/article/corsair-h100-review/

In the conclusion of that article they claim to have overclocked the 3930 to 5ghz with it!

skype6
03-30-2012, 10:50 AM
5Ghz on 6 core with hyperthread, that's sick...