PDA

View Full Version : Can Bullet be applied to Instances?



Remoc
03-25-2012, 07:17 AM
I need an object instanced say 200 times.
Then bullet applied and they drop onto a bouncy floor.

So, can Bullet be applied to instances?

Remoc

Philbert
03-25-2012, 01:13 PM
I tried it on my current project but it didn't seem to break apart the object "parts" correctly. I may have just missed something as I didn't have time to mess with it.

sublimationman
03-25-2012, 05:58 PM
I asked this not long ago and the answer was no, it does not work.

3DGFXStudios
03-26-2012, 05:15 AM
You can bake instances to objects with a python script found in the script/general directory. Select the object that got instanced and run the script. Now your instances will show up as normal object so you can do a save transformed or something like that.

Philbert
03-26-2012, 10:22 AM
That's good to know, I was wondering about converting instances to objects recently.

tcoursey
03-26-2012, 11:58 AM
may not directly relate, but I was able to come up with a technique using bullet to solve the dynamcis on proxy objects and then replaced with instance rendering. You can find a little more here: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=126313

Remoc
03-26-2012, 11:43 PM
The path to the python script is from the top Newtek directory

\support\plugins\scripts\python\layout\generic\bak e_instance.py

Thankyou

Remoc

Remoc
03-26-2012, 11:47 PM
Ok, I successfully baked the instances. ( cool )

But I now have hundreds of individual objects.
This makes it hard to apply Bullet to them all.

Is there a way I can combine the objects into one object.
Then I would need to apply bullet ( parts ) to only one.

Thanks in advance.

Remoc

alexs3d
03-27-2012, 12:04 AM
hm, try to send the objects to modeler and cut and paste all the objects in one layer, then use parts for bullet.

i did not know about that script, really cool :) thanks for the tip...

archijam
03-27-2012, 01:49 AM
Nice guys, thanks!

I guess we could also replace the instaces with a point, then use those in other apps etc .. Very handy for millions of instances.

3DGFXStudios
03-27-2012, 04:35 AM
there's also a script out there that saves all selected objects to one single object. http://www.lwplugindb.com or maybe someone posted it here on the forums.

Scroll down to S and you'll find some nice save scripts http://www.chrisepeterson.com/v2/lscripts
I don't think this is the best one in your case but it makes things a lot easier.
SaveTransformed is a nice script for example. Load all the objects back into modeler and save them a one single object.

raw-m
03-28-2012, 11:35 AM
LWs View/Layers/Collapse Obj in Modeller will do it too, with a few more options to play with as well.