PDA

View Full Version : Animating Parts of building being constructed



tcoursey
03-23-2012, 08:26 AM
I'm sure you've seen the kinds of animations from Max or Maya that show building parts flying in, rotating on etc..etc.. They have a few plugin/techniques that help this process.

Anyone know of any tutorials or techniques that could make this process easier more fluid in LW? Thanks for any thoughts.

Sensei
03-23-2012, 08:34 AM
If it would be just appearing/disappearing (without move/rotate), you can assign different weight map value to every part. 0.1, 0.2, 0.5 etc. Then use Weight map as input to Logic with envelope and then to Transparency.

tcoursey
03-23-2012, 08:37 AM
It will be more like this. I've watched some tut's from other apps, but nothing they are doing (as I remember, it's been a bit) translate to LW.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQkDRXo7tLM

We don't some similar things in the past, it's a lot of modeling and keyframing (movement and transparency) but thought I'd ask if there were some "tricks" or "tips" out there. Thanks for anymore thoughts...

tcoursey
03-23-2012, 10:50 AM
I think I'll try using Dpont's Boolean Node. That seems to add some extra look/feel without a whole lot of trouble.

dwburman
03-23-2012, 11:30 AM
http://youtu.be/cwZn_a_TcrQ
I did this with a weight map, a morph map and gradient. Basically the weight map determines the order in which the parts are morphed. Unfortunately, there's no real rotations with the morph. You could probably use DP_Kit's Part Move instead of a morph map.

tcoursey
03-23-2012, 12:15 PM
Interesting. I like. That kind of mostion wouldn't work well with the booleans. I'm sure I'll end up with some keyframed peices, booleans, and maybe this technique all together! fun, fun.

Thanks for sharing.

lertola2
03-23-2012, 04:12 PM
My colleague did this animation of the construction of the world trade center site a couple of years ago:

http://www.bryanchristiedesign.com/animations.php?animation=53

As I recall he use dpont's part move node along with an animated gradient to make the parts of the buildings grow into place. You could also use the part move node to rotate and move the parts into place. I think the node setup was something like this.

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=102892&stc=1&d=1332540611

-Joe

geo_n
03-23-2012, 09:57 PM
This is easier to do in lw now than 3dmax.
dponts part move in displacement object properties.
Move the pivot in layout for different kinds of assembly motion.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7Ti4nYGBQY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4D7RjPU72g
Really neat and no keyframes baked unlike what I usually do with 3dmax.

tcoursey
03-27-2012, 08:56 AM
geo,
Looks neat. I have a similar setup but all I am getting is the parts to jump around not move into place. The only way I was able to get any movement at all is by adding an envelope to the image on the correct axis.

What am I missing, I've never used Part Move. Thanks for any input.

lertola2
03-27-2012, 08:50 PM
geo,
Looks neat. I have a similar setup but all I am getting is the parts to jump around not move into place. The only way I was able to get any movement at all is by adding an envelope to the image on the correct axis.

What am I missing, I've never used Part Move. Thanks for any input.

Are you using an image sequence? You probably need to post more information so we can understand what the problem is.

tcoursey
03-27-2012, 08:54 PM
No I just made a black and white image similar to one shown in node editor above. Then set it up to move in the X direction over time. This moved the parts but just made them jump around really.

I guess I just need to read up more on the Part Move, but don't see much on this type of use anywhere.

dwburman
03-27-2012, 11:47 PM
Try unchecking "World Coordinates" on the Part Move Node. That fixed the problem of parts moving out of place in a recent test scene I made.

geo_n
03-28-2012, 10:34 AM
geo,
Looks neat. I have a similar setup but all I am getting is the parts to jump around not move into place. The only way I was able to get any movement at all is by adding an envelope to the image on the correct axis.

What am I missing, I've never used Part Move. Thanks for any input.

Did you try to move the pivot of the object in layout? It has to be moved away to get the movement if I recall.