PDA

View Full Version : Have 9.6.1...shall I upgrade to 11?

freeflyklown
03-20-2012, 03:16 PM
Hello,

I wonder if it's worth for me to upgrade to LW11. Currently I have LW 9.6.
Maybe I need to explain my situation a little bit better. I bought LW 9 some years ago. I dabbled a little bit in it and I liked it better than other programs like Maya or Max...it just fit my way of thinking better. At that time I was a complete beginner, had never used 3d apps before at all. However, due to real life issues, I did not really have time to actually learn properly, so in the small amount of sparetime I mainly just read 3d forums and various 3d books. Also I bought 3d coat and pmg Messiah when it was so cheap. But as said, I never had the time to really dig into all these programs and start to learn.
Fast forward a few years to now. I am still a beginner, but I have now time again, and I want to learn 3d. I think I have quite capable software to achieve my ultimate goal, which is learning 3d properly using LW, 3d coat and animating in messiah. My goal is to create a short movie with a character in it, in the style of pixar or dreamworks (I know qualitywise that won't be possible, but I mean from the way it looks...nothing "realistic"...maybe somehting like the plankton invasion series) but first comes learning the basics such as modeling, surfacing, texutring and animation in general, then character animation and last but not least rendering.

Now I wonder if I should upgrade to LW11...I realize I would have better done that earlier when it was cheaper, but I missed that...such is life.