PDA

View Full Version : Merging LWO objects



Philbert
03-18-2012, 02:06 AM
I found i was abl to use FBX to transfer a max file to Layouit fairly well, but annoyingly it comes in as many individual objects, like box01, Box02, etc. So I've got over 60 .LWO files when I'd be happy with like 1-5. Is there's a script or something that can save all the objects in Layout to one LWO? Thanks.

erikals
03-18-2012, 02:36 AM
maybe bring them to Layout and export them via MG Save Transformed plugin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7yDUttDPLA

D-Lab
03-18-2012, 02:56 AM
Hi,

There's a command in modeler/layers tab/layer utilities/Collapse Obj which, as is name implies, can regroup different layers or even a directory full of object into 1.

Tchao

erikals
03-18-2012, 03:29 AM
nah, too easy :]

Philbert
03-18-2012, 09:46 AM
Thanks, I had a feeling there might be something in LW to do it.

Edit: Looks like I might need the Save Transforned anyway, all of the individual objects are saved at 0,0,0 and positioned in Layout.

zarti
03-18-2012, 10:35 AM
press End

D-Lab
03-18-2012, 11:50 AM
Philbert,

You can also try to load the fbx in Modeler, I've tested and it loads objects in place.
Or if you've made some modifications to the positions of the objects in Layout, export in FBX and import in Modeler.


Tchao

Philbert
03-18-2012, 01:33 PM
Also a good idea. I'm done now but I may need to do this again later in the project.

Airwaves
06-07-2012, 12:32 PM
I am wondering if my problem is similar at all. I purchased a classroom model from Turbosquid and it loaded funny into Lightwave 11 so Turbosquid tech support sent me an fbx file and I cannot open it in modeler because it gives me an error. I try layout and it says error could not load clip - Unsupported file type and/or file not found.

If I hit the ok button enough times the model loads with no problems but even after saving the scene I still get the error and have to click it a billion times to get it there? I am a complete newbie so if you have any ideas that would be helpful.
Thanks

Airwaves
06-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Update - Turbosquid emailed me and they can get it to work just fine in lightwave 10. Does lightwave 11 have a problem with this?

Airwaves
06-07-2012, 01:35 PM
Attached is the error I get.

Chuck
06-07-2012, 01:46 PM
Airwaves, please submit the FBX file with a bug report and we'll investigate the issue. Thanks!

Airwaves
06-07-2012, 02:09 PM
I submitted it just now. Thank you.