PDA

View Full Version : Hypervoxel problems

dragonchild00
03-12-2012, 03:20 PM
Im not sure if this is a bug or if I am doing something wrong. I work in the oil and gas industry and I have a scene that will be underwater and will require particles. When the scene is rendered, having hypervoxels turned on causes the textures to "dance" or jitter. It took me a while to figure out that it was the hypervoxels causing this problem, but I still don't know why. I have attached two videos showing the difference. For obvious reasons I can't show the real equipment, but have replaced it with simple stand in objects. But the problem still remains the same. Any help would be great.

fgreen
03-13-2012, 08:31 AM
My first thought was that it looks like some kind of video compression artifact. Have you tried to render to non-compressed stills?

Another possibility may be the surfacing and/or a radiosity issue-- like the surfaces are picking up and reflecting the motion of the particles.

Are you using radiosity? If so, I'd try a render with it off.

I would also try simple non-reflective surfaces on all the objects to see if it is some kind of wierd reflection.

dragonchild00
03-13-2012, 12:42 PM
Thanks for your response. The problem happens with or without radiosity. And in the videos I made when I noticed the problem, I rendered them without compression. I will try the simple non reflective surfaces and see if that makes a difference. It would be a shame if I can't use reflections because of hypervoxels. But so far I have been rendering them separately.

dwburman
03-13-2012, 04:15 PM
That is strange. You could try toggling some of the render and shadow flags, but I don't know what exactly is going on there.

Do you still get the flickering when you set the HVs to UnSeen by Camera? Does it flicker if you uncheck Cast Shadows?

prometheus
03-16-2012, 01:14 PM
might be reflections too from the reflective hvs, but I guess it might guess shadow raytracing.