PDA

View Full Version : Running 32 and 64 bit version



crpcory
03-09-2012, 09:09 AM
Can you run both the 32 bit and 64 bit versions of LW (lw 11, os x 10.6.8)? I have a license for each but I seem to run the 64bit version for either one I put in.

Is this possible?

Thanks

rsfd
03-09-2012, 09:51 AM
Yes, you can.
LW11 holds both "flavours" in one application.
If you want to run LW11 in 32-bit, you just select the application's icon (Modeler, Hub, Layout), choose the Info palette (cmd-i) and check "run in 32-bit mode".

You can also mix them, by e.g. running Modeler in 32-bit while keeping Layout as 64-bit application.

Scazzino
03-09-2012, 11:29 AM
You can also duplicate Layout and name one Layout 32 and one Layout 64 (and/or Modeler). Then set the File Info: Open in 32-bit mode on for the 32 bit version and off for the 64 bit version. Then you can simply launch whichever one you need when you need it rather than flipping the switch each time. :thumbsup:

crpcory
03-09-2012, 12:53 PM
Ahh yes, brilliant. Glad it's so simple. Thanks for the help :)

Trying to see if I want to use Messiah or not for a short film I need to fast track (got it during the $10 mega-deal). Haven't used it much yet, hopefully I can get the plug-ins to work out well in LW11