PDA

View Full Version : Instance renderr speed

Philbert
03-06-2012, 05:25 PM
Maybe it's me being naive. I have never used instancing before LW11 but the impression I had was that it's supposed to be a tremendous speed up in render times. In my experiments with it it doesn't really feel that fast. Is it like that for everyone?

djlithium
03-06-2012, 05:40 PM
Compared to practical geometry, absolutely its faster. Faster to load, faster to sort, faster to work with in the GUI itself, at render time your speeds will vary, but its faster there too. It still has to go through all the same AA and RT functions as you would with practical (vs virtual/instanced) geometry so its going to slow down from that stand point but really, its way faster than using non-instanced set ups. Trust me I know, I would never have been able to make it through several shots without it on IronSky. Never in a million years would I have been able to do it without instancing on the set ups we had (hardware for rendering and the network it was attached to) and it (LW11) was still in super beta at the time when I did those shots. Worked like a charm!

Philbert
03-06-2012, 05:49 PM
Perhaps it seems slower because it enables me to add so many objects so easily.

dwburman
03-06-2012, 06:04 PM
I remember when HD_Instance came out the big deal was being able to use more geometry. It may have been a little slower than rendering actual geometry back then, but with RAM prices being higher and no 64-bit version, instancing was the only way to do some shots in one pass.

Lewis
03-07-2012, 01:39 AM
KAT is right, it's faster, you wouldn't be able to even render so many stuff without instancing so in that regard it's tons faster and easier on RAM :). But we are get adapted easy to add lot more stuff we can do so yeah your renders will be slower and slower as much stuff you add and you'll add it surely now when we can but that's normal ;).