PDA

View Full Version : Surfacing Instances and Source Object differently



raw-m
03-06-2012, 08:45 AM
I have an object which is instanced. I've then cloned the same object so I can move it around and change it a bit. The Instanced object and my cloned object share the same surface but I want the Instanced surfaces to be different from my cloned surface. i.e. - if it's and instance use this surface, else use this surface.

Is this possibly nodally? The manual is helpful for showing how to change textures on every instance but I want a way to add a non-instanced object to the nodal tree. Hope that makes sense! I know I could double up the object but I don't want to have duplicates of models if I can help it. I've tried messing with the Switch input on the Multiswitch node, but same problem, don't know how to tell it whether it's and instance or not!

dpont
03-06-2012, 09:02 AM
This is another advantage of DP Instancer,
the 'global' Instance ID output from its Instance Info node,
is set to zero for the reference object,
and set the first instance to 1.

Denis.

raw-m
03-06-2012, 09:07 AM
Thanks Denis, good to know. I hoped LW worked like that natively but clearly doesn't. Any sign of an updated Mac version soon :D?