PDA

View Full Version : Simple way of Rendering Cutaways?



Grant
03-02-2012, 07:15 AM
Hi , I have a model of a 40 foot truck with an exhibition inside of it.

I want to create a cutaway of the truck but I don't really want to boolean the model as I need to do some renders of it as a complete truck.

I know I could create two models one cutaway and the other not and I could make certain polygons transparent but I wondered if there was a quick way of creating and rendering cutouts a bit like using the section tool in Google Sketchup.

see the video example.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiMA1IAn8HU

Can anyone help please, many thanks!!!!

mummyman
03-02-2012, 08:06 AM
Hi... it's not the best method... but here are a few

http://www.md-arts.com/tutorials/lw_tutorials/tutorials.html

mid-way down the page, look for clip-map cutaway with a Trex... or you can check into DP kit boolean here:

http://35.vincent.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=119003

Good luck!!! Hope some of this may help

tcoursey
03-02-2012, 08:16 AM
you might could use an animated boolean. That way your object doesn't have to actually get cut, just at render time. I think DPont has a node that does this. Haven't used it or know how it should work but something to look into maybe. Good luck.

Sensei
03-02-2012, 08:38 AM
In application which has modifier/history stack, making such tool would be a piece of cake..

biliousfrog
03-02-2012, 10:14 AM
DP's boolean shader can do this although it can be a pain to set up. If it's for a still I'd render two passes and manually erase the outer layer, I find that it offers more flexibility.

Modo's latest release does render booleans natively and they look brilliant.

Andy Meyer
03-02-2012, 10:40 AM
****'s latest release does render booleans natively and they look brilliant.

you shall rot in hell for using nasty words, bad boy! :D
:thumbsup:

biliousfrog
03-02-2012, 12:30 PM
I don't think so. ;) I don't think that NT has the same inferiority complex that it used to and I'm sure that most people can see both applications for their merits and weaknesses without thinking that they must use one or the other exclusively.

-FP-
03-02-2012, 04:36 PM
LW can do this natively with nodes.

LightWave 3D - Boolean 3D section render basic demo (http://youtu.be/oYsVF7sU3Zw)