PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Please



Tony3d
02-25-2012, 10:42 AM
I'm going to be animating a round belt riding over pulleys. If I just make the pulleys rotate, the belt looks dead. Whats the easiest way for me to make the belt look like it's riding around the pulleys?

nickdigital
02-25-2012, 10:53 AM
You could try moving a texture through the belt so it looks like it's moving. You'll want the texture to move along the path. If your object has a UV map on it you could use the UV to map an image sequence or possibly drive a procedural through it.

Dexter2999
02-25-2012, 11:38 AM
Texture
Motion blur
Maybe even add some vibration to the belt on the nanometer scale of the Y axis.

Tony3d
02-25-2012, 01:19 PM
You could try moving a texture through the belt so it looks like it's moving. You'll want the texture to move along the path. If your object has a UV map on it you could use the UV to map an image sequence or possibly drive a procedural through it.

How do you get a texture to follow a path?

Dexter2999
02-25-2012, 03:53 PM
UV map it to the belt.

XswampyX
02-25-2012, 04:28 PM
http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/BeltNPulley_rgb_001.jpg

http://youtu.be/W1PPCv9fx_Y

Just set out your UV map with UVSpider and then move it.

Tony3d
02-25-2012, 06:30 PM
Thanks. Is UV Spinder built Lightwave, or do I have to download it?

nickdigital
02-25-2012, 06:41 PM
I think it's built in. In your Menu Layout do a search for spider. It'll show you where it is.

Tony3d
02-25-2012, 10:26 PM
I'll try this tomorrow. Thanks again for all your help. I'll let you know if I get it to work.

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 09:46 AM
Found UV Spider, but it's always grayed out. I know little about UV Maps. Can someone get me started with this?

nickdigital
02-26-2012, 09:52 AM
Found UV Spider, but it's always grayed out. I know little about UV Maps. Can someone get me started with this?

Do you have an existing UVMap on your belt?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c8wC5aFOnts
http://www.kxcad.net/LightWave/LightWave_3D_9/modeler/map_tab/texture/uv_spider_.htm

XswampyX
02-26-2012, 09:54 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c8wC5aFOnts

From the master. :)

Aaaaargh! too slow!

MDSPECIFIC
02-26-2012, 10:16 AM
Instead of UV Spider, you can use better solution for UVs in this case like PX_UV_Creeper.

Just select two points of your belt, activate PX_UV_Creeper and you will have your seamless UV map.

http://www.pictrix.jp/?p=3837

You have plugin and two .mov video tutorials.
Really great little plugin!

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 10:24 AM
This is great stuff, but I have little to no experience with UV Maps, and absolutely no experience with Nodes. To top it all off my head hurts.

MDSPECIFIC
02-26-2012, 10:34 AM
Tony, just download and install PX plug in Modeler.
Then select just two points of your belt object, start PX_UV_Creeper, press OK and you will have your UV.
Just three clicks! :D
Then, in Surface Editor in Texture tab for image layer projection select UV, and for UVMap select the map wich PX_UV_Creeper was made, and for Image select your desired image/animation and that's it. Another three clicks. :D
Post your results and If you need help, we will work it out.
It's very basic task really, don't be afraid. :D

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 01:21 PM
Ok, I'm really feeling very stupid here. What did I do wrong? Then it's going to have to be animated around the pulley's.

XswampyX
02-26-2012, 01:35 PM
Can you show us the UV map from modeler?

Or post the belt model?

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 01:45 PM
Here you go. Listen, I really appreciate this. I know you have better things to do. I never got into UV Mapping, but I can see I'll have to learn this. I can model, and texture very well with standard surfacing techniques, but UV's really throws me as does Nodes. How does one animate this then. Does it have anything to do with the extra slices I have on the radiuses?

XswampyX
02-26-2012, 01:53 PM
No problem. :)

You haven't set your uv map... Press the T and then select your map.

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 02:06 PM
This is better, but now it's stretched. It was the extra slices. I made a new model.

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 02:09 PM
Here it is in modeler.

XswampyX
02-26-2012, 02:22 PM
Ah, that's better. :thumbsup:

With your UV map I would just use the stretch tool and stretch it up. The UV map is set by the polys, so it will shrink your texture image. This is set to repeat by default.

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 02:24 PM
Thanks again. Now how do I move it to follow around the cable?

XswampyX
02-26-2012, 02:32 PM
This is the most simple way I can think of. In the first scene the motion is tied to the rotation of the pulley. This would enable you to speed up/slow down the rotation and the belt would follow.

http://www.db-w.com/

Simple version won't, just add in a multiply node to set your speed to follow the pulleys.

Tony3d
02-26-2012, 02:35 PM
Man, thank you for all your time. I will try this later tonight. Mind if I Friend you. I promise I won't be a pest.

XswampyX
02-26-2012, 02:41 PM
Heh heh. No problem. :)

Uv's can save you so much time when you get the hang of them, and they can be used for more than just textures.

Cheers!

VonBon
02-26-2012, 05:05 PM
Never fully grasped this technique. From Mr. Proton
ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/escalator.mov

VonBon
02-27-2012, 10:37 AM
:D i looked at that vid last night, dont know why i didn't
understand it the first time.

Tony3d
02-27-2012, 02:24 PM
Finally got it to work. I did it through the regular surface panel though. I have no idea what I'm doing with Nodes. wish there was a way to link the texture speed to the speed of the pulley's using anything but nodes.

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f132/2001as/?action=view&current=test-desktop.mp4

XswampyX
02-27-2012, 02:41 PM
Looks good Tony3D, nobody would ever guess that belt isn't moving. :hey:

How did you get the texture to move without using nodes? I couldn't find a way.

Tony3d
02-27-2012, 03:03 PM
If you have a UV Map then under the regular surface pane I used Animation UV Cycler. I can find now to link the belt texture to the speed of the pulleys though. Thats the bad part. I would love to learn how you did that with nodes.

Tony3d
02-28-2012, 04:42 PM
Here it is with smaller text and some texture.

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f132/2001as/?action=view&current=test-desktop-1.mp4

Dexter2999
02-28-2012, 05:12 PM
Something weird with the pace of the text. Text seems to appear from nowhere.

I'm not trying to slam you or anything. At the beginning there is only one visible set of text. Then later there are four sets visible.

But it is getting there.

Tony3d
02-28-2012, 05:23 PM
Something weird with the pace of the text. Text seems to appear from nowhere.

I'm not trying to slam you or anything. At the beginning there is only one visible set of text. Then later there are four sets visible.

But it is getting there.

That's because one of them is hidden around the left pulley.

D-Lab
02-29-2012, 05:13 AM
Hi,

A little different solution than XswampyX here :

You just have to do some maths to determine the right number you put in the multiply node so that the belt won't slip.

On a side note, the second pulley is driven by the rotation of the first one with a set driven key modifier on his bank channel in the graph editor.

So, you can control the whole assembly just by setting the rotation of the first pulley.

Tony3d
02-29-2012, 07:30 AM
Hi,

A little different solution than XswampyX here :

You just have to do some maths to determine the right number you put in the multiply node so that the belt won't slip.

On a side note, the second pulley is driven by the rotation of the first one with a set driven key modifier on his bank channel in the graph editor.

So, you can control the whole assembly just by setting the rotation of the first pulley.

Thanks a lot. I'll see if i can get that to work. I know like nothing about nodes though. I did the animation using the normal surfacing panel.

XswampyX
02-29-2012, 10:32 AM
Hi,

A little different solution than XswampyX here :


Thanks for the input D-Lab....... but 'that' is my node set up? :D

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/BeltNodeSetup.jpg

D-Lab
02-29-2012, 11:25 AM
Ok XswampyX,

I was refering to your post #24...:hey:

Now I see we've got pretty much the same thing :thumbsup:

Tchao

PS: There's also the old morph trick but perhaps it should be slower nowadays.

Tony3d
02-29-2012, 11:43 AM
I'm afraid I would almost need a tutorial on this example to get going with nodes. I'll have to look around.