PDA

View Full Version : Help with making clothes for soldier.



Philly85
02-22-2012, 04:17 PM
Hey I am having major trouble, I sort of have it looking like the soldier has ruffles on the model rather than just having a rubbish looking flat body if you get me.

For my computer game so cannot go wild with polygons :(

Ignore the awful texture because its not the final one. Any suggestions? I have been selecting polygons resizing them smaller and does the trick but still looks very strange.

Philly85
02-23-2012, 02:30 PM
Any help at all guys? desperate lol.

Sensei
02-23-2012, 03:43 PM
If you would go "high poly baking to low poly model" method we were talking about, I would just said to you to use Wrinkle http://modelingpack.trueart.eu
but with so really low poly from beginning, you have to make it by hand.. so, Modify > Drag tool is your friend making wrinkles..

Philly85
02-23-2012, 04:09 PM
Fair play never known a forum like this! Everyone so helpful, shall be mentioning you and a few others on here in my dissertation Acknowledgments :D Thanks matey.

Eagle66
02-23-2012, 04:13 PM
If you deal often with cloth i can recommended Marvelous Designer.

Runway Walking
http://vimeo.com/17622300

3D clothing
http://vimeo.com/30179240

20x faster and easier as in LW....

Philly85
02-23-2012, 05:16 PM
Thanks been dragging etc looking better but still looks weird but cannot put my finger on it, any suggestions? Could be because I have not given it a neck.

Plus a decent army jacket texture is hard to find :(

Sensei
02-23-2012, 05:34 PM
You have sub-patches, so you will never have sharp edges, especially with such low poly.. Freeze it (make backup object), and try dragging points.

Philly85
02-23-2012, 05:47 PM
Not really sharp edges as such just bumpy if you get me lol.

Froze it and went from 2,000 polygons to 22,000 polygons :O

Sensei
02-23-2012, 05:50 PM
Games don't use sub-patches...

You must model low poly objects in regular polygons..

Sub-Patch level 3 is generating 3*3 polys = 9
2000 sub-patches level 3 is 18,000 regular polygons.

Sub-Patch level 4 is generating 4*4 polys = 16

Philly85
02-23-2012, 05:54 PM
This Clo3d looks awesome thanks mate!

Wonder if it works well when exported COLLADA to go into Torque.

Philly85
02-23-2012, 05:55 PM
Games don't use sub-patches...

You must model low poly objects in regular polygons..

Sub-Patch level 3 is generating 3*3 polys = 9
2000 sub-patches level 3 is 18,000 regular polygons.

Sub-Patch level 4 is generating 4*4 polys = 16

Over my head mate sorry lol.

How come they dont use subpatches? Have loaded some things with sub patches into Torque before.

MarcusM
02-23-2012, 06:12 PM
Don't reinvent the wheel, game dev have rules, workflows, use google and follow them. My advide is to find good reference materials and put on bg in modeler to model soldier. Make low poly in modeler, sculpt in Zbrush, retopology, bake normal map, rigging... long way.

Sensei
02-23-2012, 06:19 PM
How come they dont use subpatches? Have loaded some things with sub patches into Torque before.

GPU understands only triangles.
Even quad is converted internally to 2 triangles.

So if you will load sub-patches, they're frozen, or treated directly as regular polygons (take close look at high zoom, is character as smooth as in Modeler??)
Try Box- sub-patch it, don't freeze in Modeler, load in Torque. In Modeler you have it close to sphere. What is in game engine?

Sensei
02-23-2012, 06:27 PM
This Clo3d looks awesome thanks mate!

Wonder if it works well when exported COLLADA to go into Torque.

It's thousands or hundred thousands polygons to have such effect..

It must/should be baked to normal maps on low poly model, wrinkles will be as normal vectors in image file.

Philly85
02-24-2012, 01:46 AM
Yeah just looking now, might stick some dark areas and use Crazy bump that will pick up the dark areas as bumps will give it a go later cheers.