PDA

View Full Version : Shoulder Rig Discussion

ShadowMystic
02-09-2012, 07:41 PM
So, I was experimenting with rigging. I'm not new to rigging, but I am new to rigging nuances. With a combination of rotation limits, one IK target, and one pole object, I have created a rig that, at first, appears quite solid. I haven't had a chance to test it, but I plan to soon.

Now, I was wondering if anyone else uses this method or one similar.Maybe, you use one you find better, more stable, and faster. Please, comment on trials, tips, tricks, and tribulations on the troubles of creating predictable IK rig in actual productions. (i.e. no popping.)

I'm interested in all experiences. I am young and intend to be a 3D sponge even if, someday, I must--ack-- learn MAX or Maya...

metahumanity
02-10-2012, 05:05 AM
So, I was experimenting with rigging. I'm not new to rigging, but I am new to rigging nuances. With a combination of rotation limits, one IK target, and one pole object, I have created a rig that, at first, appears quite solid. I haven't had a chance to test it, but I plan to soon.

Now, I was wondering if anyone else uses this method or one similar.Maybe, you use one you find better, more stable, and faster. Please, comment on trials, tips, tricks, and tribulations on the troubles of creating predictable IK rig in actual productions. (i.e. no popping.)

I'm interested in all experiences. I am young and intend to be a 3D sponge even if, someday, I must--ack-- learn MAX or Maya...

It would help to start this discussion if we could see the rig you came up with. Video? Screens? File?

Anyway, the hardest thing to get right in a shoulder rig are the deformations, IMO. IK is more of a technical aspect and quite easy to set up.

One golden rule is to keep IK solutions limited to 2d by separating the axes.

RebelHill
02-10-2012, 05:25 AM