PDA

View Full Version : Node Editor - Subtle Detail



HolyMonkey-
01-29-2012, 12:05 PM
Hey, I've been trying to recreate something like this with only using the node editor.

http://www.cgtextures.com/thumbnails/textures/metal/galvanized/MetalGalvanized0022_7_thumbhuge.jpg

My current attempts have been adding a gradient to create the fresnel, effect and then add adding a FBM with subtle settings without much luck.

Anyone have a nice node setup for creating subtle details in materials using only the node editor?

http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/5043/newtek.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/809/newtek.jpg/)

This setup failed completely, hehe

XswampyX
01-29-2012, 12:18 PM
Link gives a 404.

RebelHill
01-29-2012, 12:20 PM
It fails... because again, ur using ALPHA... which is pure white, 100%... so the input to your gradient is constant 1.

XswampyX
01-29-2012, 05:47 PM
The flake node is good for this.

http://youtu.be/IvWJsDx6uMI

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/GalvaText.jpg

HolyMonkey-
01-30-2012, 03:27 AM
The flake node is good for this.

http://youtu.be/IvWJsDx6uMI

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/GalvaText.jpg

Awesome!


Uhh, how do you setup VPR like you did in that window??

HolyMonkey-
01-30-2012, 03:35 AM
It fails... because again, ur using ALPHA... which is pure white, 100%... so the input to your gradient is constant 1.

I have a question to you, and other for that matter. =)

Does your menu plugin that you created and gave me awhile back work in LW 10/11?

Also, compared to LW 9,5. Does LW 10/11 have a steep learning curve? Alot of new features you need to get used to?

We can afford to purschase one upgrade, but I keep reading people having alot of problems bugs in regards to LW 10. Which one do you recommend getting for one whose been stuck at 9,5 for awhile.

Due to fear of having corrupted files I havent upgraded 9,6. But deadlines are a bit better now and alot of people apparently still use 9,6.

What do you guys recommend?

raw-m
01-30-2012, 09:47 AM
Very nice vid XswampyX. Sorry for the basic question, what is effect of having the alpha on the gradient set to over 100%? Been searching around and can't find much reference to it.

RebelHill
01-30-2012, 10:52 AM
I have a question to you, and other for that matter. =)

Does your menu plugin that you created and gave me awhile back work in LW 10/11?

Also, compared to LW 9,5. Does LW 10/11 have a steep learning curve? Alot of new features you need to get used to?

We can afford to purschase one upgrade, but I keep reading people having alot of problems bugs in regards to LW 10. Which one do you recommend getting for one whose been stuck at 9,5 for awhile.

Due to fear of having corrupted files I havent upgraded 9,6. But deadlines are a bit better now and alot of people apparently still use 9,6.

What do you guys recommend?

menu plugin?? Dont know what u mean there.

Otherwise... why not upgraded to 9.5? its far better than 9.5, which was a lil clunky. Also, 10.0 is a bit buggy, but 10.1 was much more stable, as is 11.

As for learning curve... its still the same package, so not that much difference. Also... if all u got is 9.5... how do u have VPR... or the flakes node?? theose are both 10x features.

XswampyX
01-30-2012, 11:48 AM
Very nice vid XswampyX. Sorry for the basic question, what is effect of having the alpha on the gradient set to over 100%? Been searching around and can't find much reference to it.

Hello raw-m.

I think the Fresnel node needs a value > 1. It's a bit like the refraction index of transparent objects. 100%=1 so 150%=1.5 or 200%=2

Hope that helps.

HolyMonkey-
01-31-2012, 01:13 AM
menu plugin?? Dont know what u mean there.

Otherwise... why not upgraded to 9.5? its far better than 9.5, which was a lil clunky. Also, 10.0 is a bit buggy, but 10.1 was much more stable, as is 11.

As for learning curve... its still the same package, so not that much difference. Also... if all u got is 9.5... how do u have VPR... or the flakes node?? theose are both 10x features.

You made a menu layout which you gave me awhile ago. It's awesome and im just wondering if it will work with LW 10.

I dont have VPR nor the nodes, which is why im asking. The video is still awesome, I understand the process. Thank you guys for being awesomely helpful =)

You would get LW 11 then I imagine?

raw-m
01-31-2012, 03:01 AM
Sorry for the mini hijack there HolyMonkey!

Cheers XswampyX, always learning :D

HolyMonkey-
01-31-2012, 05:01 AM
Sorry for the mini hijack there HolyMonkey!

Cheers XswampyX, always learning :D

I'm amazingly butt hurt! nah im not, it's suppose to be a lesson for all of us. Dont hesitate to hijack my thread, the more questions answered the merrier ;)

RebelHill
01-31-2012, 05:53 AM
You made a menu layout which you gave me awhile ago. It's awesome and im just wondering if it will work with LW 10.

sure of course. Lw hasnt really changed, just new tools/features tacked onto the same old program pretty much.