PDA

View Full Version : Fibermesh to Sasquatch



Boris Goreta
01-28-2012, 05:06 PM
Hi, this is a tutorial on how to convert fibermesh to guides to be used for rendering with Sasquatch.

It covers also how to get fibermesh model to Layout and render it using exported UV maps and how to use gradient to change color from root to fiber tip.

Having fibermesh exported with UV map is important to easily convert it to guides once the mesh is pushed to Modeler. In ZBrush use FiberUV to generate UV maps. This command will generate nice and tidy UV map which will be used to delete unnecessary points to get poly chain and then later to select root points and make root single point polygons.

http://www.borisgoreta.com/forum/fibermesh%20to%20sasquatch.mp4

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=101281&stc=1&d=1327794761

jasonwestmas
01-28-2012, 05:59 PM
that's pretty sweet! using the fiber mesh as the shadow too.

Boris Goreta
01-28-2012, 06:11 PM
Actually the guides were used as shadow casters. Line rendering is turned on but the guide layer was made unseen by camera so it would only cast shadows. Thickness of the guides defined the thickness of the shadow.

UnCommonGrafx
01-29-2012, 05:53 AM
Excellent.
Thanks!

HenrikSkoglund
01-29-2012, 10:50 AM
Hi, this is a tutorial on how to convert fibermesh to guides to be used for rendering with Sasquatch.

It covers also how to get fibermesh model to Layout and render it using exported UV maps and how to use gradient to change color from root to fiber tip.

Having fibermesh exported with UV map is important to easily convert it to guides once the mesh is pushed to Modeler. In ZBrush use FiberUV to generate UV maps. This command will generate nice and tidy UV map which will be used to delete unnecessary points to get poly chain and then later to select root points and make root single point polygons.

http://www.borisgoreta.com/forum/fibermesh%20to%20sasquatch.mp4

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=101281&stc=1&d=1327794761

Super nice! Thank you for posting this. Would this work on FiberFX as well?

Burchigb
01-29-2012, 05:57 PM
Thank you for this vid

alexs3d
01-29-2012, 11:34 PM
thank you for the tutorial.

webhead
02-01-2012, 06:36 PM
Super nice! Thank you for posting this. Would this work on FiberFX as well? My question as well?

jasonwestmas
02-01-2012, 07:06 PM
My question as well?

Yes. . .you just have to use the FFX tool in modeler to convert the guides into something that FFX can understand.

webhead
02-03-2012, 04:52 PM
Thanks, jasonwestmas! I'll have to try that out.

bazsa73
02-06-2012, 10:12 AM
Thanks, great tutorial.

moussepipi2000
02-15-2012, 07:32 AM
nobody tried with ffx ?here it create me a fiber for each point.

UnCommonGrafx
03-26-2012, 07:50 PM
With the export of splines and strandmaker, these steps are no longer needed.

Boris Goreta
03-26-2012, 07:54 PM
How can I use curve exporter ? I get an obj file with polygons, no splines, please explain, thanks.

jasonwestmas
03-26-2012, 07:54 PM
With the export of splines and strandmaker, these steps are no longer needed.

Export of splines from Zbrush? I wonder how that works. Plus I was never able to get poly chains to work with strand maker, I need LW splines.

UnCommonGrafx
03-27-2012, 03:51 AM
Yeah,
I watched one of the videos where they talk about exporting fibermesh as splines. As I said, they even notate that lw is one of the splines they are able to export.
At the bottom of the mesh panel is an export curves button. Use that and it will actually work in layout.

VermilionCat
03-27-2012, 04:50 AM
Jason,
It's R3's new feature. Exported splines (lwo) are now working with LW11 Strand Maker.

akademus
03-27-2012, 06:18 AM
Anyone got this nailed? Fibermesh to FiberFX?

akademus
03-27-2012, 08:05 AM
Oh. I got it. Make fibers in Zbrush, export as obj or goz. Strandmaker in modeler. And it works with FiberFX. Awesome!

03-27-2012, 08:19 AM
Actually,
Look at the fiber mesh panel. At the bottom is an export curves button. I normally would have just overlooked it but the vid I saw showed how you can export the splines.

Any other way gets an "exceeds 128 points" error.

Exported splines, strandmaker conversion get a smooth transition to layout where FFX actually JUST works. It was the least crash time I've had with ffx.

jasonwestmas
03-27-2012, 09:45 AM
Jason,
It's R3's new feature. Exported splines (lwo) are now working with LW11 Strand Maker.

hot dang! wow, now I really respect pixo. and I respect NT for supporting their tools.

jasonwestmas
03-27-2012, 09:26 PM
really great fiber mesh video:

http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthread.php?167515-FiberMesh-Test&highlight=Cut+hair

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=tG4NwNmCw14#!

Julez4001
03-28-2012, 09:18 AM
Has anyone put this through their paces and have any examples?

jasonwestmas
03-28-2012, 01:39 PM
Has anyone put this through their paces and have any examples?

I may soon. I got it to work in modo, maybe I'll try later with fiberfx.

Sarford
04-03-2012, 06:06 AM
Works fine.
Just make sure you're using FAST-PREVIEW when exporting your curves, then everything will be fine, run strandmaker and put it into FFX.

Cheers, Simon

jasonwestmas
04-07-2012, 02:13 PM
http://www.pixologic.com/zclassroom/homeroom/lesson/fibermesh/#fiber-essentials