PDA

View Full Version : Can you straighten a crooked line?



Stahlsart
01-25-2012, 11:24 AM
Quick question (I hope)...

Say you have a series of edges (10 or 20... doesn't matter)at say varying 60 to 70 degree angles, is there any way to grab all the edges or points and have them align so they become a straight line using the first and last edge (or points) as a reference to keep the line at a angle and not become complete vertical or horizontal like using the stretch tool would do?

Afalk
01-25-2012, 11:34 AM
Had to think about this for a second :D

There's a workplane plugin out there, grab that - set your working work plane to match the angles you need.

Then use the built in set value controls to straighten out your line.

Nangleator
01-25-2012, 12:35 PM
To be really clever, set the first and last points to 100% on a new weight map called Fixed.

Save just this collection of 2-point polys as a separate object.

Open it in Layout, apply Cloth Dynamics with the Fixed weightmap as the fixed points. Set polygon size at 10%. Don't apply any gravity. Run the simulation. Export the result with Save Transformed Object.

Straight line. Even segments.

Heh.

probiner
01-25-2012, 12:56 PM
http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=bb8375f1

demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QQUE4Yu0tU&#t=5m2s

Cheers

Stahlsart
01-26-2012, 10:36 AM
Once again, my Lightwave brethren comes thru. Thank you guys! It just blows my mind sometimes how there can be multiple answers to a problem :)

Silkrooster
01-26-2012, 11:54 PM
One more to add...
Select all the points, or even edges and use the stretch tool. If you go far enough, you end up with a straight line.

-EsHrA-
01-27-2012, 03:22 AM
a black hole will straighten everything out! :)

erikals
01-27-2012, 03:59 AM
 
V_align
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qT3owZlriII

 

erikals
01-27-2012, 04:27 AM
 
LineUpPointsEQ, nice :]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eP4Qxtt1mHY

 

colkai
01-27-2012, 09:25 AM
It's amazing how many of the "ancient" plugins developed for LW5.6 are still so very useful. Of course, the fact that you still NEED plugins that existed in LW5.6 to do these things, raises comments of it's own. :p ;)
It's why I still have my [56plugins] directory, some of 'em just never have been surpassed. :)

erikals
01-27-2012, 09:46 AM
...It's why I still have my [56plugins] directory, some of 'em just never have been surpassed. :)

list please... :]