PDA

View Full Version : Need help! Problems with shadows (i'm new with LIGHTWAVE!)

ruejos
10-18-2003, 12:27 PM
i'm having problems rendering in layout. i have set up a scene with objects including lighting and camera.............but the lights just pass through my objects (all light types...sigh!), i have set the shadows on and followed every instruction from the manual - but it doesn't render and shadows when i hit F9 (sucks!).

Thanks in advance for the tips you'll be posting.

Ruel :confused:

Aegis
10-18-2003, 12:44 PM
Go to Rendering/Render Options and turn on "Ray Trace Shadows" - that should get your shadows. LightWave can cast two type of shadow - Ray-Traced and Shadow-Mapped. Shadow-Mapped do not require raytracing but can only be used from spotlights - you'll have to change the shadow type on the "Shadows" tab for the spotlight.

ruejos
10-20-2003, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by Aegis
Go to Rendering/Render Options and turn on "Ray Trace Shadows" - that should get your shadows. LightWave can cast two type of shadow - Ray-Traced and Shadow-Mapped. Shadow-Mapped do not require raytracing but can only be used from spotlights - you'll have to change the shadow type on the "Shadows" tab for the spotlight.

I just tried the instruction you've gave but it still doesn't work!

Attached herewith is a sample of the render.

Thanks.

Aegis
10-20-2003, 12:48 PM
Umm... OK... :)

The picture you've uploaded looks like it's only lit with ambient lighting (Light Properties/Global Illumination/Ambient Intensity) - this usually defaults to 25% and many LightWave users turn it off (0%) altogether 'cause all it really does is brighten your image (can be useful for lightening shadows though and it does play a part in Radiosity renderings but we'll save that for later ;)).