PDA

View Full Version : How to Rest on (my) Ground?



Ryste3d
01-17-2012, 12:27 PM
Hi,

How do I perfectly place this houses (boxes drawn in y 0) on the sloppy ground model?

I have never been able to figure this one out. I know how to do it in Layout but that is not an option.

Is it possible?

jburford
01-17-2012, 02:45 PM
If you know how to do it in Layout then why not do it there, and then save out Transformed Object?

lertola2
01-18-2012, 08:31 PM
I would setup a scene in lightwave to render a displacement map from your terrain. Texture your terrain with a gradient that goes from black at zero elevation to white at the top of the highest peak. Set the object to be 100% luminous and 0% diffuse. Put an orthographic camera looking straight down on your terrain and render the gray scale image. Then use this image as a displacement map on your buildings to get them to conform to the terrain.