PDA

View Full Version : Can you have 3 inputs in a XD450 EXTREME set?



malone1986
01-11-2012, 02:19 AM
Hi guys,

I hope you all had a good Christmas and New Year.

We currently have an XD300 and have been able to produce some nice sets using the VSE. We are upgrading to a 450 EXTREME and was wondering if due to the fact it has 2 DDR's, it would be possible to create a virtual set for it that has the 3 following inputs:

1. The talent via camera 1
2. Graphics shown on a screen via a network connection
3. A slow moving video background via the DDR.

I have not seen the 450 in action yet so was wondering if anyone knew if this was possible/have seen it done before?

Thanks guys,

kltv
01-11-2012, 11:54 AM
You can do two in the LiveSet, but the third would need to be added via the Overlay channel in the Virtual Input. You can't map that inside VSE, but it can be added in Live Production.

Kris

malone1986
01-12-2012, 04:54 AM
Hi Kirs,

Thank you for your reply. That makes sense - looking forward to giving it a go when we get our hands on the 450!

Cheers,

Simon

joseburgos
01-12-2012, 08:17 AM
The 450 will give you the added bonus of being able to crop the Overlay. What this would allow, as an example, B feed to be the full screen background good for a animated/looped motion graphic and the A input left box with LiveMatte ability. Then the middle layer could be two frames of any kind with one framing the A input. Then the right frame, again as an example, could be 4:3 so as to use for a speakers head only instead of 16:9 taking up real-estate and overlayed then scaled, cropped and positioned exactly over the right embedded frame (middle layer). This way you can make it look like it is a dualbox with animated background and frames around both boxes with boxes having different aspect ratio.

Take care,