PDA

View Full Version : Modeling question...please help!



Simon-S
01-09-2012, 06:20 PM
Hi,

I'm creating quite a complicated object using exact measurements/specs and I need to have it sub-patched to create a nice smooth finish. However, some areas are hard edged and others smooth, so I'm using band saw to create those sub patched hard edges.

It's essentially a ball with various shapes cut out of it and in part of the model I need to bevel down a smooth, round hole (essentially like a cylinder cut into the ball) which then bevels in again to become a sharp octagon shape.

My problem is creating the hard edged octagon shape whilst keeping the cylinder round and smooth. As the model is for 3d printing it needs to be air tight so theres no question of separating the hard and smooth parts.

I just wondered if anyone has any tips for connecting hard edges with smooth in sub-patch mode?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers

BigHache
01-09-2012, 09:41 PM
In the transition area from cylinder to octagon, you could try reducing the geometry so that the cylinder has only the segments needed to maintain the round shape.

Also, check this thread (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=123806) for Radial Move. Great plug-in for scaling tubes but maintaining proportions.

Also also, Mentalfish has a great plug-in Circlify (http://mentalfish.com/lightwave/).

biliousfrog
01-10-2012, 02:07 AM
you might find it easier to start with the octagon then spread the points to create the circle...or model both separately (with the same amount of points) then join them.

Simon-S
01-10-2012, 02:43 AM
Thanks for your comments guys. The main issue for me is that I'm adding edge loops to create the sharp edges of the octagon and these loops are travelling up the cylinder, creating unwanted creasing.

prometheus
01-10-2012, 03:23 AM
this is an excellent site on subpatch modelling with hard surfaces..lots of free videos..
http://www.pixelandpoly.com/video.html

Makes m wonder thou if you really need subpatching when it in the end comes down to freezing for 3d print, canīt you work with regular hard mode?


Michael

Simon-S
01-10-2012, 03:25 AM
Awesome, thanks! Looks like some really handy stuff there. :)

Sensei
01-10-2012, 05:01 AM
SwiftEdgeLoop v2.0 has option to create smooth edge loop to simulate curvature of divided geometry
http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SwiftEdgeLoop

Simon-S
01-10-2012, 05:15 AM
Looks like a great tool! Are there any demo's or images of the 'dissolve edge' function on the site? It sounds like something I'd like to know a little more about before purchasing. Is it simply a 'delete edge loop' function?

Cheers.

Sensei
01-10-2012, 05:25 AM
What would show such image? Edge loop on 1st image, then it's gone in next.. ? :)

You just have to hold control key and right mouse click on edge, and whole edge loop is gone. No need to select anything in this case.

Or select some geometry, then hold control and press some edge, and edge loop restricted by selection will be gone.

Simon-S
01-10-2012, 05:37 AM
Ah ok thanks. I thought so.

Cheers

XswampyX
01-10-2012, 12:24 PM
A SubPatch weight map will do it.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/SPWeight2.gif

Freeze it at the end to give you a mesh you can export.

Simon-S
01-11-2012, 10:33 AM
Thanks for all the responses, I hadn't thought of using weight maps.

I ended up contacting Jeffry Gugick at www.pixelandpoly.com for some advice on this and it turned out to be a simple poly flow issue. I needed to add extra geometry in the right places, whilst making sure I had no tris.

Here are the images Jeff sent to me...simple when you know how!

Cheers.

JeffrySG
01-11-2012, 05:18 PM
You could also approach it like this if you wanted to end up with a 24 sided outside circle.

100879 100880