PDA

View Full Version : UVs don't export correctly with ExportOBJ



BenMora3D
01-03-2012, 04:47 PM
When I create a mesh and UV map it in Modeler then export as an obj, the UV map gets destroyed. I opened a model in Mudbox and saw that the UVs were distorted. I exported then immediately reopened in Modeler and the UVs are also distorted even then. What do I not understand about this? Thanks! Example below:
Made in Modeler to look like I want it.
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j181/BlackOpsBen/screen1.png

Exported as .obj then opened...
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j181/BlackOpsBen/screen2.png

probiner
01-05-2012, 01:43 AM
Did you try Zbrush Mode? :s

I only see the distruction in the UV, no distortion.
Of you share the object someone with Mudbox, might test it better.

Cheers

BenMora3D
01-05-2012, 07:17 AM
Did you try Zbrush Mode? :s

I only see the distruction in the UV, no distortion.
Of you share the object someone with Mudbox, might test it better.

Cheers

I have Mudbox. When I open the object in Mudbox it says there are no UVs or it shows distorted (moved around and warped) UVs.

evolross
01-05-2012, 11:49 AM
I've had similar issues since LW10. Try exporting in 9.6. There's a known, reported bug but for some reason they aren't fixing it. This could be your issue.

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=115681&highlight=obj

Sensei
01-05-2012, 12:25 PM
Open .obj in text editor and check whether there is dot used as floating point, or coma. If coma replace by dot.

Ozzle
03-29-2012, 05:59 PM
I have this exact thing happen in LW9.61. Using the obj exporter in LW9.5 fixes this.

Sensei
03-29-2012, 07:21 PM
Any text editor can fix it, just replace character by another.

Ozzle
04-01-2012, 10:36 AM
No it is not that bug. I looked at the obj and it is all dots. Unless you mean something else.

HolyMonkey-
04-04-2012, 12:39 AM
I am not familiar with exporting UV's from LW but when I do it in maya, there are certain things you can do which I think LW also has aswell.

Delete your history(log if any)

Freeze Tranformation (It resets all the transform values and set the current position to 0) Similar to Record Pivot position/rotation

Select all your UV points and have them selected while exporting.


Try anything that will eset your mesh values and sorta put everything back to start. Even try to open a new modeller and ctrl X ctl V into the new scene and try exporting.

evolross
04-06-2012, 09:48 AM
Delete your history(log if any)
:ohmy: You must not be very familiar with Modeler!

NinoK
04-06-2012, 10:12 AM
:ohmy: You must not be very familiar with Modeler!

I like to think he can see the future and is seeing LW 12 that has a history stack with editable modifiers and primitives. :p