PDA

View Full Version : Render Questions

Airwaves
12-30-2011, 02:44 PM
I have some questions on rendering. I am new to lightwave and in fact I am an accountant but I LOVE 3D and learning lightwave. I made a short animation from a tutorial a while back and I thought that 14 seconds of basic things would not take more than an hour but was shocked to see that it would have taken about 8 or 9 hours. Anyway as I am learning the stuff I found ways to do it better but I thought that render farms would be cool. Anyway, I was talking with my brother in law who is a tech nerd and we are planning on building a renderfarm for one of the websites we are putting up. Can you do lots of rendering for people using lightwave or do you have to have the plugins that everyone is using? Thanks

nickdigital
12-31-2011, 09:32 AM
Anyway, I was talking with my brother in law who is a tech nerd and we are planning on building a renderfarm for one of the websites we are putting up. Can you do lots of rendering for people using lightwave or do you have to have the plugins that everyone is using? Thanks

I assume you're talking about starting a render farm service?

If so, then yes, you will need to have all the plug-ins (native ad 3rd party) that a client is using in their scene.

Airwaves
02-17-2012, 03:22 PM
So in regards to setting up a small render farm for a project I am starting. I was wondering if anyone could answer some basic questions for a newbie like me.

I have the option of getting older computers at an extremely great price. They are basic business hp desktops with 2gb ram and a dual core 2.53 ghz.

I originally looked into buying 6 brand new computers with great specs but for that price I can get about 25 of these computers. I am a novice to this still but want to see if a bunch of old computers can work or is this a bad Idea? Thanks

paulhart
02-17-2012, 03:35 PM
My speculation is that, if the price point is good enough, you will a great bang for the "buck."