PDA

View Full Version : RT Occlution render



HolyMonkey-
12-24-2011, 04:54 AM
Hey, im looking on a way to use the node editor to overlay an OCC to my wall and floor to create a bit more depth in my building.

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/4378/3dhelp.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/9/3dhelp.jpg/)

If I just use OCC II, and plug it into the color for the material becomes the OCC which is just too dark and yeah, I want some more controll, an comparison could be when you bake out and overlay in photoshop controll the strenght and opacity. Can you copy this realtime in LW?


Also critique most welcome for my work.

UnCommonGrafx
12-24-2011, 08:10 AM
Why plug it into color? Diffuse is better, or so it is espoused as the one to plug into.

You can plug the color into something else, e.g., color tool or colour booster from db&w, to tone it down first.

VPR can do this 'realtime'.

Cool space.

HolyMonkey-
12-24-2011, 09:02 AM
Do you know where I can locate fprime? It's a plugin right?

Viper, really doesn't work for me.

UnCommonGrafx
12-24-2011, 09:07 AM
Worley.com

Ah, you are on pre-10, huh?
I don't mean Viper, I mean vpr: it's the updated, in the port, volumetrics, too, previewer now.
http://www.newtek.com/features-video.html
Faster and more inclusive than even FPrime, at this juncture.

HolyMonkey-
12-25-2011, 04:20 AM
Worley.com

Ah, you are on pre-10, huh?
I don't mean Viper, I mean vpr: it's the updated, in the port, volumetrics, too, previewer now.
http://www.newtek.com/features-video.html
Faster and more inclusive than even FPrime, at this juncture.

Back in the days, I used different programs and I've encountered few problems with upgrading the software. I also read alot of people have quite some problems with LW 10 it seems. So i'll rather wait until all the babydiseases has been fixed.

OFF
12-25-2011, 06:29 AM
here a simple base setup for AOcclusion/Reflection blur shade. You can remove the reflection shader if you do not need..
here used SG_AmbOcc_shader, you can replace it with native lw Occ node.

HolyMonkey-
12-25-2011, 01:31 PM
here a simple base setup for AOcclusion/Reflection blur shade. You can remove the reflection shader if you do not need..
here used SG_AmbOcc_shader, you can replace it with native lw Occ node.

Thanks man! If you have more shaders you want to share, dont hesitate ;) hehe Cheerio!

rsfd
12-25-2011, 02:23 PM
usually, you would multiply AO with Diffuse or probably mix it with a Diffuse Shader to feed the Diffuse Shading Surface input.
Denis Pontonniers (http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/main_en.htm) additional nodes from his DP_Kit will give you even more possibilities.
And this (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=121785) is a thread were Gerardo Estrada shares a lot of his knowledge about several Occlusion setups.
Hope, it helps!