PDA

View Full Version : Layout (LW10) File Not Found

Bax33
12-23-2011, 03:24 PM
Hi,
I've been using LW 10 for about 4 months and I'm new to CG. Everything has been working fine. Last night I loaded a simple model (a wall, floor and door) into layout for a 20 second animation. It worked and I closed layout without saving. Today I tried to open layout and it doesn't come up. Instead I get a strange warning box that says file not found with two buttons, one that says Yes and the other No. If I click No I get the second box that says Error with an OK button. If I click the Yes button it opens the File Dialog box looking for a file named 'bles'. Has anyone run into this before? Do I need to reinstall layout?

System is Windows 7 64 bit with plenty of ram. Possible virus?

I attached the warning boxes I get.

Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks

nickdigital
12-23-2011, 03:31 PM
Try clearing out your config files first. Unless you're redirecting your configs manually (if you don't know what I'm talking about then nevermind) they should be in your C:\Users\[you]\.NewTek\[LWVersion] folder

Bax33
12-23-2011, 03:44 PM
I don't know exactly what you mean, I only load saved scenes. Most the time I start from scratch. I did find the config files where you mentioned and I opened each and did a search of bles, but no occurences were found. This is really strange.

nickdigital
12-23-2011, 03:49 PM
The config file just controls how LightWave behaves. It's possible that your config files got corrupted. So if you delete them and then relaunch Layout/Modeler then you're starting the program fresh. Think of it like setting your dvr back to factory settings.

JonW
12-23-2011, 03:53 PM
LW seems to do this every so often. It takes a bit to get your head around this.

Also make sure you save lots of incremental steps especially if you have really complex objects & scenes. eg. Archmodel_v001, Archmodel_v002, Archmodel_v003 etc. Archscene_v001, Archscene_v002, Archscene_v003 etc.