PDA

View Full Version : wrong maps???

Dune
12-10-2011, 05:41 AM
Being a newbie, I've encountered a problem. What am I doing wrong? I mapped all surfaces and in Lightwave it looks good, but when I open the .lwo in Poseray or the exported .obj in Terragen, the maps are wrong. It probably has to do with welding and unwelding and welding UV, but I cannot get it right.
I noticed that when I hit heal UV, while looking at a UV map, it distorts.
Please advise me what to do!

biliousfrog
12-10-2011, 08:22 AM
Are you UV'ing the maps in Lightwave or using planar, cubic, spherical etc?

Sensei
12-10-2011, 08:29 AM
Try Detail > Unweld. Then export as obj.

Do you have every single polygon uv mapped? In LW you can place textures without having uv map, there are built-in projections that do it automatically, but 3rd party applications don't understand it.

Dune
12-11-2011, 01:24 AM
I made UV maps in LW, mostly cubic, and then unwelded points and rotated/moved items in the UVmap about until the texture looked ok. I then hit m to merge points. Nevertheless, some items still seem torn apart by welded points. It looks good in the upper right screen, but when exporting, the maps aren't read well. So I need to somehow fix+weld the maps like they are, or repair them. But how?
When I look at some UVmaps in the upper left corner, there are loose points (white, not red). Do they have anything to do with the problem?
I need it for use outside Lightwave, so it has to be exported properly.

Sensei
12-11-2011, 03:51 AM
If I were you, I would delete everything except polygons which looks bad after exporting, then export, to see whether problem is still present. If so, then you have something to give to us, to investigate.

Dune
12-11-2011, 10:07 AM
I fixed it somehow, by unwelding and merging everything, then flattening layers and exporting as obj. I'll take care to unweld points before moving poly's around in the UVmap.
Thanks for your help!

speismonqui
12-11-2011, 06:32 PM