PDA

View Full Version : Relinking old forum links Dead fish or what?



prometheus
12-01-2011, 03:21 AM
Any insight on this issue, If newtek forum and webmasters are going to fix the issues with broken links within threads and posts?
Most annoying..
I was looking for plugins wich were linked to other threads etc.
Or should we not bother going through old post.

Dont remember what I should add or correct within the link to get it working properly.

Michael

Cryonic
12-01-2011, 11:19 AM
newtek.com/forums -> forums.newtek.com

vfxwizard
12-01-2011, 11:23 AM
Dont remember what I should add or correct within the link to get it working properly.


For plain links in the forum, just modify them removing the forum subdirectory and changing www to forums. Like this:

old link: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=75463
new link: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=75463

If you find something in Google, it's often in the archive format. Say someone is googling "lightwave sketchup camera", among the first results is my free plugin, but Google still thinks it's here:

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/archive/index.php/t-84702.html

Change "vbullettin" to "forums", and it will work

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=84702

the nuisance is that you can't just copy Google's link, you'll have to edit it a bit because it's full of extra arguments and escaped characters.

Hope this helps!

prometheus
12-02-2011, 02:57 AM
Thanks guys...
If they donīt change the forums to much in the future, I will be able to check this thread for help again if needed:D

Michael