PDA

View Full Version : Transparrancy Issues on objects



HolyMonkey-
11-29-2011, 03:39 AM
I am currently trying to work with moving wires using the LW plugin Serpent.

However, serpent always has a dodgy start making the wire move unaturally the first few frames.

I've been thinking of a method to hide geomtry where I dont want it to be seen anymore generally. My post production skills aren't that great in regards to After effects, and masking out imagery. If anyone had a tutorial on that aswell would be great.

A way I could think of was using Distance to Object, and a null. Set transparrancy to 100. However, this never creates a complete invisible object, you can always see some parts of it, even though in every single channel I put the same effect. From Diffuse all the way down to the bottom. You can always see pieces of the geomtry.

Anyone know how to fix it or a better way?


cheerio!!

brunopeixoto
11-29-2011, 05:14 AM
A gradient on transparency channel?

HolyMonkey-
11-29-2011, 08:02 AM
I used a gradient on the transparrancy channel. Distance to object.

It doesn't work. I'll knock up a image tomorow of my settings. No time now.

brunopeixoto
11-29-2011, 05:44 PM
Try use a null with these settings.

HolyMonkey-
12-05-2011, 03:15 AM
I have to apologize for the mega delay.

Here's my problem basically, and I am using a null.

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/9781/transparrancyissue.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/163/transparrancyissue.jpg/)


:(

brunopeixoto
12-05-2011, 03:22 AM
Maybe, using the same gradient for specularity and diffuse. Also, check the refraction, set it to 1, or 0.

HolyMonkey-
12-05-2011, 03:35 AM
Maybe, using the same gradient for specularity and diffuse. Also, check the refraction, set it to 1, or 0.

Any quick way to copy setting from one node to a nother?

brunopeixoto
12-05-2011, 03:36 AM
Something like this?

brunopeixoto
12-05-2011, 03:38 AM
Just drag another link to the desired channel, but I think you will to invert the gradient...
Copy the gradient and paste a new one...

HolyMonkey-
12-05-2011, 03:56 AM
That's exactly how I want it, I guess it's the reflection / chrome in my material that still remains. Try to add some reflection and refraction see if you get the same problem? Here are my settings for the material

Diffuse 80

Gloss 20

Ref 15

Bump - Standard Turbulence bump

Raytrace + Backdrop

brunopeixoto
12-05-2011, 04:23 AM
It worked well...

HolyMonkey-
12-05-2011, 05:04 AM
It worked well...

I'll send you my scene once im done setting it up if I cant fix it and I'll let you have a look at it if you want later.

Cheerio =)

Quick question, exactly how does your scene setup? That texture would do for some nice water. Just a blue gradient or something?

brunopeixoto
12-05-2011, 07:24 AM
The backdrop use a gradient. Radiosity On!

HolyMonkey-
12-13-2011, 06:30 AM
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/4276/hielfemachd.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/443/hielfemachd.jpg/)

It doesn't work when I use the gradients it seems. Any ideas? I could always just skip the node editor and gradients but doesn't look good!

Where you see the blue in the lower right image, its suppose to be 100% transparrant.

Transparrancy has been edited in the gradients to a 0% alpha which makes it pretty much invisible but some shading still remains!

brunopeixoto
12-13-2011, 06:35 AM
Use the same technique to specular...

HolyMonkey-
12-13-2011, 06:56 AM
Use the same technique to specular...

I have :P

brunopeixoto
12-13-2011, 06:59 AM
Could you post your scene and objects for a quick look?

HolyMonkey-
12-15-2011, 01:52 AM
Could you post your scene and objects for a quick look?

Done!