PDA

View Full Version : Randomness between polygons sharing a surface



Goumba Tony
11-13-2011, 03:21 PM
Ok, I hope that title accurate describes what I want...

Basically, I have a building with windows, and I want to crack those windows. I have found a node which does the job, and gives the cracked appearance I want, except I would like a bit of randomness between the window panes. In doing so, I would also like to have all windows use the same surface (i.e. "Small Window"), as the building has over a hundred windows, giving each one its own surface (or even group windows to several surfaces) would be a bit of a pain in the rear.

I'm using the Cell from the IFW nodes collection. I've tried using various outputs of the Spot Info and other like nodes into the Vary and Seed inputs of Cell, no good.

If you look at the attached render, you can follow the crack lines from one window to another, which ruins the effect.

Anyone know how I could possibly accomplish this?

cagey5
11-13-2011, 04:31 PM
You can do this with dpont nodes kit. There is a node called partinfo under displacement section I think. Plug that into the position input of your cracked node and you should have a good starting point.

Goumba Tony
11-13-2011, 05:30 PM
Thanks cagey5, but unfortunately the lines are still continuous across polygons whether I use oPos or wPos as the input.

cagey5
11-13-2011, 07:36 PM
Hmmm. Not at my computer so can't do a step by step, but I'm sure that's what I've used previously.

You are using the partinfo item id output into the procedural position input yes?

And this is the dpkit partinfo not spot or item info?

cagey5
11-14-2011, 12:26 PM
Attached is a quick image to demonstrate the effect on an array of rectangles. All one object/layer in modeller with a single surface. You can see the simple node set-up I used, using the veins procedural as an example.

Hope that helps.

Goumba Tony
11-20-2011, 06:38 PM
Thank you cagey5. Sorry, I've been a little busy. I'll have to play around with it. I was not getting any randomness even with the Part Info node, maybe its the node I was using as the destination.

dpont
11-21-2011, 12:59 AM
For surfacing, you should use the Index output of the Part Move node,
if your window glasses are made with one polygon only,
the Polygon Number output of Extended Spot Info node (DB&.W)
is faster for varying your procedural.

Denis.

Dreamer
12-15-2011, 02:28 PM
Is it possible to use an image map and have it placed randomly on a surface?
I have a 30x30 surface divided into 900 polys. I want an image map to be irregularly placed all over it. I'm trying to make random foot prints in the snow.

dpont
12-15-2011, 11:48 PM
Is it possible to use an image map and have it placed randomly on a surface?
I have a 30x30 surface divided into 900 polys. I want an image map to be irregularly placed all over it. I'm trying to make random foot prints in the snow.

Image Bombing?

Denis.

Dreamer
12-16-2011, 06:51 AM
I don't know what image bombing is. I want to take one paw print and have it randomly placed on a surface. Something like this example.

dpont
12-16-2011, 08:25 AM
Image Bomber does something like that,
check RmanCollect on my site.

Denis.

Dreamer
12-16-2011, 08:43 AM
Thanks, I'll try it now.

Dreamer
12-16-2011, 09:58 AM
LW just crashes when I use the Image Bomber node at default settings.

dpont
12-16-2011, 11:23 AM
LW just crashes when I use the Image Bomber node at default settings.

Doesn't crash here, both Texture and Node versions
as texture layer color or as node setup connected in nodal surfacing,
though I'm testing on win32,
could you post your setup?

Denis.

Dreamer
12-16-2011, 12:02 PM
I'm just using this image on a plane. All settings are default.

dpont
12-16-2011, 12:38 PM
Don't thing there's a problem with your image,
as I said it works correctly here,
version platform?
Node, Texture, color channel?

Denis.

edit: btw, I downloaded your image, but it's a gif,
I needed to convert it in a readable format in LW.

Dreamer
12-16-2011, 01:01 PM
I've tried psd, jpg, png I crash.

dpont
12-16-2011, 01:31 PM
Could be something in the Mac version,
did you try another procedural of RmanCollect?

Denis.

Dreamer
12-16-2011, 01:59 PM
Most of the others work fine. Here's what iImage Bomber looks like before the crash. A quick screen capture.

dpont
12-16-2011, 02:40 PM
No idea, can't reproduce, win32, LW10.1, VPR view,

100288

Denis.