PDA

View Full Version : Slide one point along edge



MUCUS
11-04-2011, 06:37 AM
Hi there! :)

I've attached a screen-shot in order to explain what I'm looking for.
I already know how to slide an edge (or two points selection) along
a polygon, but how could I slide this point along the edge?

It's a problem I meet often, so I hope it's not a simple function/plug I miss until 11 years in modeler! :)

Dexter2999
11-04-2011, 06:44 AM
I want to say that Sensei had a plug for this. I could be wrong. But I remember a thread a while back where someone asked how to slide a point and he answered. The OP complained that they wanted a free way to do it. To which Sensei replied, "If there was a free way to do it, why do you think I would waste my time writing a plug in to do it?" (or something very similar.)

I could be wrong. You might try a forum search and see what turns up.

Good Luck

MUCUS
11-04-2011, 06:59 AM
Haha! Thank you for answering! Shame on me to haven't done a quick search before, here's a link to a post which point to a free plugin:
http://forums.newtek.com/showpost.php?p=556763&postcount=31
I'm trying it with 10.1 and it's perfectly working, thank you :)

daforum
11-04-2011, 07:50 AM
There's also the script WEdgeSlide:
http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=34be0b7b

Hope it helps :)

probiner
11-04-2011, 07:59 AM
You know... modeler does it. A tool that it's quite situational but it does get ignored a lot. It works with point order and you need to check Numeric panel option.
It's called Segment Scale.

MUCUS
11-04-2011, 08:37 AM
daforum, thank you! :) I'm already using WedgeSlide, but maybe I'm not using it correctly, cause here it seams to only be able to slide 2 points selection?

Probiner, I don't even heard of this tool before! :) I try it but only manage to crash modeler (9.6 and 10.1) when I change point order...I'll have to check the manual about this one, but thank you for pointing it!

That said I'm really glad to have find moveonedge, I don't know if you try it already, but it's fully interactive and really really stable :)

probiner
11-04-2011, 08:46 AM
You crashed both 9.6 and 10.1 with Segment Scale!!?? Weird...

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?p=1022693#post1022693 example
You can choose to affect both sides (centered), or each individually (Side 1, Side 2)

Like I said, it's situational because it can be used in many situations but specific plugins normally cut it faster.

Cheers

MUCUS
11-04-2011, 09:03 AM
Ah ok yes! I was trying to use it with one point selected :jester:
It's working nicely indeed, good to know it, thank you :thumbsup:

Sensei
11-04-2011, 10:11 AM
Dexter2999, it's scary to tell you anything, if you have so good memory to quote word by word... :p