PDA

View Full Version : Noise like Static on DDR Audio (TC350)



LenseOnLife
10-31-2011, 05:36 AM
Hi,

Been using the TC 350 in a Studio environment for a while and recently started producing a regular 'magazine programme' It comprises a 'Continuity' person introducing pre-recorded clips which are shown and then back to 'Continuity' again.

The clips are pre-loaded into the DDR.
The studio talent is shot against a green screen and we use a still picture as a background (no Virtual Studio use in this scenario).
Sound from the studio is crystal clear.
Clips are pre-reviewed within the DDR and none have volume more than -20 ( we originally thought it might be being clipped, so we turned slider volume down to ensure no clipping). One clip plays perfectly, the others all have (to a greater or lesser extent) static type noise when we preview them and also when we record the session.

After exiting to Windows from the TriCaster all clips play perfectly (through the read audio out).

Any ideas anyone - we are going bald very quickly hear from tear our hair out :cursin:

:help:

SBowie
10-31-2011, 05:51 AM
Perhaps you could post a little detail on the clips? Were they captured natively on the TriCaster, or do they come from another source? If the latter, how were they captured, and what file format are they? It might be useful to put the good one and one of the 'bad' ones somewhere for download, and we can arrange for some testing.

LenseOnLife
10-31-2011, 07:15 AM
Hi,

all clips were recorded on Camcorders (two different ones) and were then edited using FCP on an Apple. One of the clips is about 150MB.

Where do people normally put up clips for people to download and check out?

SBowie
10-31-2011, 07:31 AM
all clips were recorded on Camcorders (two different ones) and were then edited using FCP on an Apple. It would be interesting to examine a clip directly from the camcorder, as well as one as rendered by fcp.

One of the clips is about 150MB. Where do people normally put up clips for people to download and check out?150MB isn't too scary, but smaller would likely serve the purpose just as well if available.

More often than not when we do this, people just put them on an ftp server or in some accessible spot website (without any public link) on their website server. Alternatively, there are free services that support large file transfer (I often use this one: http://www.files2u.com). For security, we can discuss this by PM if you like.

kltv
10-31-2011, 10:54 AM
You might check and make sure they are 16-bit audio instead of 24-bit. I haven't tried 24-bit on a TriCaster, but people have accidentally done 24-bit audio from FCP and put it on an Editor that didn't support it... and it sounded just like you are describing.

Kris

LenseOnLife
10-31-2011, 12:32 PM
Thanks, it is a public holiday here, so will take a day or so to find out whether it was 24 bit that was used in FCP.

Thanks for replies and assistance so far