PDA

View Full Version : Breaking Dynamics

gschrick
10-25-2011, 07:33 AM
Seems silly, but all I am trying to do is drop a candy corn on to a floor and have it bounce/roll a little and stop. When I can actually work without LW crashing on me, the candy corn (hard FX) hits the floor (collision) and continues to bounces forever, actually increasing it's bounce height.

That and everything is in slow motion. I created the candy corn to it's realistic size. I've tried Stop by stabilizer, but I can only use that if I say "start by event" and then the candy corn won't fall with gravity.

And like I said, LW can't seem to do a calculation more than 3 times before it just gives up. And I'm calculating a whopping 325 polys.

I'm not a novice LW user, although I don't use dynamics as much as I'd like. BUt it seems like I should be able to easily tell my objects to come to a stop.

10-25-2011, 07:53 AM
I may be old & bitter & twisted, but whatever happened to animation as a skill? real world has so many variations of surface & other factors that although playing with dynamic simulation is enormous fun, & pretty usefull for soft bodies, surely just animating a couple of bounces with keyframes is going to get something much more believable much quicker !
I've been able to scatter dozens of particle objects & bounce & slither them to a stop, but never got anything remotely believable on a single object under close scrutiny!

gschrick
10-25-2011, 08:04 AM
Yes, if I was only going to drop the single candy corn, I would hand animate it as I have done so many times in the past. But I will eventually drop many, cloned from the original once I have the settings right. I don't have the time to keyframe that many, nor do I have the time to constantly change the dynamics settings on multiple objects.

And if the TV station I work for actually gave me more than a few days to complete an animation, I would love to spend it personally animating each object.