PDA

View Full Version : Boolean Problem!!



Philly85
10-23-2011, 04:53 PM
Hey i am having trouble with a model.

Im building a NFL Football and I pretty much have it complete except when I place the holes into the football and hit boolean it does nothing, any suggestions? It either does nothing or either cuts two massive holes in the ball.

I have made all layers visible and put the holes I want to make in the background layer, this obviously is not how I'm trying to cut it this is just to get the best help possible.

Thanks.

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d30/GFX85/ScreenShot2011-10-23at234713.png

nickdigital
10-23-2011, 05:09 PM
You need to freeze the football geometry first. You're trying to boolean a sub'd object.

Andy Meyer
10-23-2011, 05:13 PM
why not use a texture to make the holes? maybe bump map will work, or try to make displacement. you dont need to destroy your SubD that way.

UnCommonGrafx
10-23-2011, 05:15 PM
At a juncture, I think Nick's advice is priceless.
Maps can work, for sure.

Philly85
10-23-2011, 05:21 PM
Thank you very much for the advice.

I think a map will save me a lot of time, thanks again :)

speismonqui
10-23-2011, 09:35 PM
from the screenshot I can see you have 2 foreground layers active, does booleans work with that? Give it a try with just 1 active layer.
Oh, and a freezed ball :)

Danner
10-24-2011, 05:52 AM
If you go with the freezed object it will get complex, and the boolean operation will take a long time to calculate, to speed up boolean operations select the polygons that wouldl be affected. Another thing you could try to make the operation less intensive is to divide the ball into 4 symetrical pieces, and just do one cuarter, then mirror it twice (once in x once in z)

3DGFXStudios
10-24-2011, 06:47 AM
I would texture the holes with a bump or displacement.