PDA

View Full Version : who knows about STEP files?

sadkkf
10-17-2011, 03:55 PM
Okay...in another thread, I asked about importing CAD files, but later learned my client is using SolidWorks instead so I asked if they could send me a .stl file, but they want to give me STEP files because, he says, they only want to show the outside of the part, not the entire assembly.

I've never used these before so I have no idea what they're like/what they do. Any input?

Thanks again!

Andy Meyer
10-17-2011, 05:05 PM
first, CAD is not the name of an app, CAD means computer-aided design. SolidWorks, AutoCAD, Catia, Pro-Engineer are all CAD apps. CAD apps use their own native file formats, STEP and IGES are kind of general CAD file formats most CAD apps can import and export. CAD files are parametric objects, not polygonal meshes. CAD is one side of the 3D world.

the other side of the 3D world is CGI (Computer Generated Imagery) with apps like LW, Maya, XSI, Max, C4D... most of them use polygonal meshes. while CAD and CGI both use 3dimensional objects, they are completely different. thats why the data exchange between the two sides of the 3D world is not that easy.

your task is now to convert CAD 3D data to CGI 3D data. STEP is the best source for the conversion from CAD to CGI. it is a common way to use a converter app like Rhino (or others like mentioned before) for that job. Rhino can read STEP files (and many others), convert the parametric objects to polygon meshes and output file formats for CGI apps. for the use with LW i suggest to output OBJ files. open the OBJ files in modeler and save as LWO files. you can also use OBJ importer plugins like mentioned before, but modeler can import OBJ without plugins too.