PDA

View Full Version : Can you upgrade to 10.1 from any version?

Pixelight
10-15-2011, 07:12 AM
I'm a Lightwave beginner and I was wondering if you can upgrade to Lightwave 10.1 from any previous version? I was just thinking that some older versions would not even run on Windows XP. So if you have to have the old version installed to upgrade you would have to be running it on an old Windows version. Or is the upgrade basically a full version? If the later then I guess it wouldn't matter.

Thanks.

JeffrySG
10-15-2011, 09:34 AM
I'm a Lightwave beginner and I was wondering if you can upgrade to Lightwave 10.1 from any previous version? I was just thinking that some older versions would not even run on Windows XP. So if you have to have the old version installed to upgrade you would have to be running it on an old Windows version. Or is the upgrade basically a full version? If the later then I guess it wouldn't matter.

Thanks.

The upgrades such as 10.1 are usually full application installs as compared to simple little patches. But if you didn't own 10 you'd have to purchase 10.1 and you'd get everything you need for installation anyway.

Pixelight
10-15-2011, 09:51 AM
I'm not sure I understand. So if I have Lightwave 6, can I upgrade to 10.1 for $695? And will it be a full application then or will I need to install it over 6?

JeffrySG
10-15-2011, 09:55 AM
I'm not sure I understand. So if I have Lightwave 6, can I upgrade to 10.1 for $695? And will it be a full application then or will I need to install it over 6?