PDA

View Full Version : Animating a wire through a spline



HolyMonkey-
10-11-2011, 01:37 AM
Hey there, Here's my scenario.

I have this cylindrical tube, and one of these http://materialhandlingdelhi.com/udit%20real/wire/Steel-Wire-Rope-6x36-FC-.jpg

which is going too pass through the cylindrical tube.


-------|______|-------- <- The wire

I could always do a straight line but I want to try and spice it up a bit. So i'd like to have the wire curve some before it goes into the tube and come out straight and curve some on the end.

From top view it would look something like this


(
| <-- tube
)

... awsesome drawings... heh.. anyway!

Do you guys know how I can approach this? I have no clue.

I do also have to make the wire change color as it passes through, this could be done pretty easily in post if the camera is standing still by adding a filter, but I want to see if I can have a moving camera then make it slightly change color as it passes through the tube within the LW render.

Any ideas? Tutorials?

Im going to need an indepth description to this as im a total newbie when it comes to this type of stuff. =) :help:

JamesCurtis
10-12-2011, 04:52 PM
This might help.

The Plugin is called Trailer. It's free!

I used it to snake an object tube through a nasal cavity in a medical animation for a client. The objects can follow a created path of any type.

Here's the link:

http://www.dstorm.co.jp/dsproducts/FreePlugins/Displacement/Trailer.html

See pic:

nickdigital
10-12-2011, 10:17 PM
For your color change problem you can use a gradient and a null as a reference object. Set the gradient to be Distance to Object and use the null as the reference.

HolyMonkey-
10-13-2011, 03:51 AM
Thank you guys so much!!

I will give the distance to null a go. Do you have any video tutorials explaining the process of it? I think I got it down though, but would be nice to see it before I start. =)


Just a quick question... how do you load in the plugin? I put it in my plugins folder what happens next? heh...

sergiox
10-13-2011, 05:18 AM
You can use "serpent" also. Watch the tutorial of William Vaughan:

serpent.mov by W. Vaughan (ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/serpent.mov )

Hope it helps.

Adding plugins: Utilities>Add Plugins

Cheers

HolyMonkey-
10-14-2011, 07:33 AM
Damn!! Seprent looks awesome! Cheers

HolyMonkey-
10-21-2011, 03:27 AM
Serpent seems to be working, but I think it's my mesh thats somehow messes it all up. My setup is animating a line with a lowrez wire, add serpent, bake out a mdd file using cloth dynamic. The wire is paranted under the lowrez, apply hard link FX on the highrez wire.

The lowrez wire works fine as you can see, however the highrez isn't following at all.

Two ways it happens. It either follows but not on the Y axis., just along the Z.

Or, as you can see here. It follow's but doesn't constrain to the serpent.

Settings shown in the images. I can use serpent directly on the highrez, but it is not optimal at all, and it keeps buggign aswell. Although I did some changes it might work now I havent tried yet, anyone have a solution?

http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/7355/imonaboatk.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/851/imonaboatk.jpg/)

sergiox
10-21-2011, 04:01 PM
Are you using FX_metalink?

Could you show your HRes object?

HolyMonkey-
10-24-2011, 05:14 AM
Are you using FX_metalink?

Could you show your HRes object?

I am using FX hard link

Here's the highrez object.

http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/4739/wireg.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/585/wireg.jpg/)

sergiox
10-24-2011, 11:10 PM
I am using FX hard link
You didn't watch the video carefully.

Just watch it again, specially from minute 9. Pay attention on the FX used (FX_metalink).

Cheers.

HolyMonkey-
10-25-2011, 06:45 AM
You didn't watch the video carefully.

Just watch it again, specially from minute 9. Pay attention on the FX used (FX_metalink).

Cheers.

Thanks, although I was pretty sure he said FX_hardlink. Giving it a go now. =)

let you know how I get on.

HolyMonkey-
10-25-2011, 07:23 AM
You didn't watch the video carefully.

Just watch it again, specially from minute 9. Pay attention on the FX used (FX_metalink).

Cheers.

Works like a charm ;)

Im pretty certain he said hard link!!! oh well, works now. Thank you!

sergiox
10-25-2011, 02:14 PM
Works like a charm ;)
Nice to know that. Congrats. :)